Ethel’s Sugar Cookies

Around Thanksgiving of last year, a girlfriend of mine brought over some of these beautiful sugar cookies. Intrigued by their wonderful flavor and the clever design, I asked her how she made them. “Vintage Hallmark cookie cutters,” she informed me.  I filed this information at the back of my brain hoping that when the opportunity (and time) arose, I would be able to find some and teach my own kiddos how to make them.

Fast forward to this past week. My wonderful hubby graciously let me spend some of his hard earned cash to invest in several of these 1970’s vintage cookie cutters. Now my little ones and I can spend hours in the kitchen making cookies each season with these clever little cutters.

My girlfriend was also gracious enough to share her recipe. Should you be interested in trying them out yourself, here is a great recipe to try:

 

Ethel’s Sugar Cookies

1 1/2 sticks of butter

1 c. sugar

2 eggs

1/2 tsp vanilla

1 tsp baking powder

2 1/2 c. flour

Mix all ingredients and chill in the fridge for 60 minutes. Roll out and use cookie cutters. Preheat oven to 400. Place on an un-greased baking sheet. Bake for 6-8 minutes. Decorate by brushing egg yolk over the top of the cookie. Then, use sprinkles to “illustrate” eyes. (Not shown in picture above.)

 

Enjoy!

11 thoughts on “Ethel’s Sugar Cookies

  1. Wow! This is the same recipe that our family has been baking for *years*! Is it from the Betty Crocker cookie book? Btw, the blog looks *fantastic* Cristina!!! Good job! 🙂

    Like

    • Hey! Glad you found your way over. Yup, Frank did a spectacular job on the blog. He is the mastermind, I just do his bidding. LOL I am not sure where the recipe comes from, I actually think it might Hallmark’s, but that doesn’t mean they didn’t use Betty Crocker’s recipe. I got this recipe from a friend, who got it from her mom. Apparently the recipe used to come with the vintage (although not vintage at the time) cookie cutters sold through Hallmark. Thanks for the encouragement. I don’t know how this thing will turn out, but so far it has been fun!

      Like

  2. Pingback: The Cookie Carnival | A Homeschool Mom

  3. Pingback: In the Kitchen: May the Force Be With You | A Homeschool Mom

Leave a Reply

