Summer School: Scheduling Fun

School has ended; the books are put away, the paperwork is filed, and the heat has begun to hit. With twelve weeks of summer ahead of us; what do we plan to do with our free time? … Summer School!

Learning about sea creatures in Monterey Bay

(Gasp) Summer School? I can hear the groans of children all over America and imagine the questioning looks from parents. Why on earth would I want to do summer school voluntarily? My kids must really be behind, right? (Come on, I know that’s what you are thinking. Be honest.) In all seriousness though, there are several great reasons why we do summer school and none of them have to do with my kids’ lack of education. In fact, just the opposite!

 

Learning about Germany

There are three basic reasons why we do summer school. 

  • My kids and I get to have some great fun together! We enjoy each other’s company and learning becomes a family event that everyone enjoys!
  • My kids don’t lose any of their skills. Studies show that children will lose about twenty-five percent of their skills over a summer vacation. The beginning of a school year can be challenging enough without the kids getting frustrated at their lack of memory. We make sure we work in a small amount of workbook time everyweek. Nothing stressful and nothing too complicated. Just something to keep them “up to par” and prep them for their next grade level.
  • My kids never have an opportunity to get bored. I make sure that I keep our summer activities very hands on and fun! The kids look forward to each new learning day, knowing that Mommy has something fun for them to do. Once we are done with the activities, they know they have the remainder of the day to play and do whatever else they might have planned.

Like all other activities I plan, I try to be very organized about our summers. In order to do this, I create a routine for myself. This helps me to know on which days we are doing things and which events I am going to prep for. Here is our basic routine for summer:

  • Monday-Summer Vacation Workbooks/Hands on Geography
  • Tuesday-Science Experiments
  • Wednesday-Summer Vacation Workbooks/Fair Projects
  • Thursday-Field Trip (if available)/Library Journals for Summer Reading Program
  • Friday-Library/Park Day or Friend Visit

Now that I have our routine in place, I will start plugging in the details. Interested? Come back tomorrow for our list of summer workbook suggestions!

12 thoughts on “Summer School: Scheduling Fun

  1. Love this! Exactly what we enjoy doing also! One of the main benefits I have found is that routines and hands on activities keep away boredom and lazy idleness, makes attitudes more pleasant, and continues to bond us as family. I will be having a similar post soon, lol. =)

    Like

  2. Thanks for the ideas, our summer is coming up pretty quickly and we will be done by the end of the month with the traditional grade-level stuff. I was hoping to avoid the Fall forgetfulness this next year because we have a lot of things on our plate when the next school year starts. Also, love the picture…we used to live right up the road in SJB!

    Like

  3. I commend you for this. I think in America we have such hard lines that define the end of education in our lives. Summer, graduation, starting work, etc, and these moments pervade our culture to such an extent that we literally stop learning. We look at learning as work vs. summer as a break.

    Like

    • I prefer to think of learning as a natural part of life. If you are living, you should be learning. This should not stop as adults either. As parents, we should be modeling this in our children’s lives and encouraging a love of learning, no matter the age.

      Like

  4. Pingback: Summer School Fun | A Homeschool Mom

  5. Our youngest began Kindergarten this year. His responses, after a holiday, made me start to wonder about how set “learning breaks” impact our homeschoolers and their education. As a guide, having a Summer routine sounds like a good thing to put together.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Our journey with summer school began pretty much the same way. Our oldest would lose skill gained after only a few short weeks off.

      Rather than have to relearn those skills, it made more sense to reduce the amount of work each day, but continue through the summer months. We’ve never regretted it.

      This year, we’ve changed up our routine even more. We’re kicking a traditional school year to the curb and making up our own.

      Like

Leave a Reply

