The Sanity of Friendship

FriendsHave you ever had one of those days when you just needed someone to talk to? Someone who would understand and sympathize; offer great advice and pray with you?

Life can often be rushed; between cleaning house, doing laundry, fixing meals, animal care, child care, ministry, and add homeschooling on top of that… life can get downright crazy!

Talking to a good friend helps to keep life in balance and sanity intact. Talking helps me to unwind, reevaluate my standing, and gain perspective from an outside source. It helps to know someone who will tell you the truth no matter what; who will give it to you straight, but with love.

My husband is my friend, he offers great advice and helps me work through difficult situations. However, talking to my husband and talking to another lady just aren’t the same. Sometimes a lady just needs another lady.Good Friends

I have been blessed with a few women in my life to whom I can talk about anything. Whether or not we both homeschool, there is no subject that is taboo. We can talk about marriage, children, our walks with the Lord, our fears, our doubts, and our struggles.

There is no harsh condemnation, just constructive criticism. There is no pressure, just honest advice. There are no such things as “too many details” or “getting to the point”; the point is the relationship.

Having fun!It is great to have a friend who will take your side. It is even better to have someone who will tell you when you are wrong. It is great to have a friend agree, but even better when they offer a different viewpoint. Someone who can be real with you and let you be real in return.

A friend is a friend, no matter the distance or the differences. You are friends not because you are exactly alike, but because you each bring something different to the table. You are a better person because they are in your life.

I have been blessed with a few women that I can truly call friends. I pray that as my children grow, they will see how much those friendships mean and develop some of their own.

I pray that you have such a friend. If not, pray that the Lord would bring them into your life and while you are waiting, be that friend to someone else. Who knows where the Lord will lead.

How do your friends help you remain sane?

8 thoughts on “The Sanity of Friendship

  1. You are so pretty! Good friends are so nice, it’s great to know we aren’t the only ones going through difficult things and it’s nice to share our joys with others.

    Like

  2. Hi My Sweet dear friend I’v been thinking of you allot lately but just been busy to pick up the phone to call reading this today just reminds me of our sweet love for one another I think the Lord for such a dear friend. Love you & Miss you much

    Like

    • Hello girlie! I thank the Lord that He brought me you. You and your family have been such a blessing to mine. I am sure things are busy right now, with school back in session. We need to make a point of getting together one day soon, even if it is for coffee. You are missed tremendously.
      Love you too!

      Like

  3. This is so true. Talking with my girlfriends (including my sisters) is what gets me through the day some times. Men and women are two different animals, and that’s why we marry one and are friends with the other. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

