Foolish Confidence

ConfidenceIt took me a long time not to judge myself through someone else’s eyes.  ~Sally Field.

Have you ever noticed that most quotes regarding confidence, focus on me (well, not me personally, but the universal me)? am going to rise above this. am better than this. No one is going to put me down.

Confidence seems to be a huge issue these days. People don’t have enough confidence in what they do. Kids don’t have enough confidence in who they are. The country doesn’t have confidence in the state of the economy.

I wonder if the reason that we have such a lack of confidence, is because we are putting our confidence in the wrong things.

From experience, I have found that the last person I want to have confidence in is me! I fail, I fall, and I make bad choices all the time. My brain fails me, my body is slowly getting older, and I have never been witty.

I am not responsible for the face that God gave me, why glory in it? I am not accountable for being born healthy and whole; why take credit for it? The knowledge that I do have, is not of my own making, but the gift that other people have instilled in me.

chickenconfidenceHere in America, especially, it seems that we favor the notion of self-confidence. Yet, if you look at the state of our nation, we have the highest failure rate in our schools. If we are so confident in what we are, why aren’t we performing better?

Again, I would argue that we are putting our confidence in the wrong place. Our confidence needs to lie in something other than us; it needs to lie in God.

When we have confidence in the Lord, we don’t have to rely on our own strength; his strength is enough (Phil. 4:13). When we have confidence in the Lord, we have no reason to fear; He is our helper (Heb. 13:6).

Confidence in the Lord promises reward (Heb. 10:35-36), it guides us (Prov. 3:6), and grants peace (Romans 15:13). There is nothing we cannot do through the power of the Holy Spirit.

Whether it is through our work, our homeschooling, our marriage, or just everyday life; we need to remember to have confidence. Not confidence that lies in ourselves but confidence in the one who will never fail. True confidence is in Christ and Christ alone.

Do you struggle with confidence issues? What reminds you of where your confidence lies?

5 thoughts on “Foolish Confidence

  1. This is so true. I had this discussion yesterday. America is raising kids to fail by telling them they can do whatever they believe they can do. Follow your dreams at all cost. Believe and Achieve. I you want to be a famous singer, but you’re tone deaf, you’ll never be a famous singer. Still, children are encouraged to follow false hopes that are beyond the talents and gifts that God has blessed them with. When they fail, it’s the world’s fault because the world fails to see their value and talent. My goal is to help both of my children to find their gifts and follow God’s path for their lives.

    Like

    • Great point! I have heard several adults who have this problem. “I was crushed because my mom told me I could do anything and then I found out I couldn’t.” We need to be kind, but realistic with our children. Encourage them, but not give them false hopes.
      I agree, find your children’s gifts and then help them walk their God given paths. When we do what He has called us to, we can have confidence in knowing He won’t lead us astray.

      Like

  2. This is very powerful! I read once that the population with the highest measure of “self-confience” was a male prisoners. I love your insight “I wonder if the reason that we have such a lack of confidence, is because we are putting our confidence in the wrong things.” Such a vicious cycle, like rowriter points out in her great comment. We have misplaced confidence then, rationally, lose all confidence.

    Like

    • Exactly! When we place our confidence in the wrong things, it causes us to lose hope and eventually have no confidence at all. We are not good, we are not great, we are not beautiful, in and of ourselves. What and who we are comes from God. It is He whom we need to have confidence in.

      Like

  3. Pingback: A Real Confidence Booster | A Homeschool Mom

Leave a Reply

