A Family Affair

The New GuitarRecently, my father-in-law was having a conversation with my oldest girl. He mentioned how important it is to be learning music and how she should find an instrument that she wanted to play.

“T” mentioned that she was learning piano, but she would also like to play guitar! No sooner had she said something, than my father-in-law put his shoes on and out the door he went. He returned about an hour later, guitar and music book in hand.

He sat down to show her the instrument and to read part of the book with her. (He doesn’t play guitar himself, but played first chair on clarinet for years.) He patiently showed her how the strings worked and highly encouraged her to start practicing daily.

This past weekend, my father-in-law called to ask “T” to bring her guitar and book on our next visit. It seemed he wanted to check her progress and to start his own lessons with her… reading music!

They studied together for some little while, her listening patiently and him briskly instructing. “T” loved her lessons with Yayo (grandpa in Spanish) and promised to keep up with her studies.

What blessed me the most about this situation (and others like them) is that the more our family sees what our children do and love, the more they want to be involved in their learning process!

My in-laws teach our children to cook, sew, and garden! Not because I don’t, but because they love it and want to share a part of themselves with the children. My sister-in-law gives instruction on how to be a better writer, speaker, and crafting guru (being the cool college professor that she is). Not because I don’t give instruction in these areas, but because she too loves them and wants to help them grow. My mother loves to encourage and support. She often brings them things to help them along; books, supplies, and ideas.

While the bulk of my children’s education will come from me (and my husband), I find it very touching that this has become a family affair. No one is excluded, all ideas are welcome, and everyone has a part in the fun!

Does your extended family participate in your children’s education? How so?

11 thoughts on “A Family Affair

  1. How special for your daughter and her Yayo! They will both gain so much more than just musical knowledge. My dad was a park ranger and teaches our boys a lot of things without them knowing it. My in-laws were both teachers and love getting involved with our homeschooling. I keep both sets of grandparents up to date on our studies through our blog so they are all constantly on the look-out for supplemental materials or information to pass on to us. It’s a huge blessing to get to share our learning experiences all together. Especially the field trips!

    Like

  2. Our family also lives too far away to be more actively involved but they love to send materials and resources that help with our studies and to see the pictures and updates that I post on my blog. That’s one of the ways that I try to keep them involved and connected.

    Like

  3. We are certainly blessed to have our family so close by. We almost moved across the continent a few years back, but changed our minds due to our family connections. I am sure your families soak up as much of your kids as they can, when they have the opportunity. They must love looking at the pictures too! What a blessing!

    Like

  4. this post brought tears to my eyes! that is so awesome that you have people who are so involved (and live so close)! beanster gets instruction from those in our household, along with what i teach him. it’s nice to have a positive outside influence to catch the things you miss or might not think about, or aren’t skilled in. i can’t wait until beanster is older and can hang out with my sister-in-law who is an aquatic toxicologist and knows all things water/sealife! all the world’s a schoolhouse.

    Like

Leave a Reply

