Ministering With Meals

Dinner TimeThis evening, the family and I have the privilege of serving dinner to another family in our homeschool PSP. It seems the mom needed to go in for surgery and is incapacitated for a few weeks. Desiring to lend a helping hand, each family in the PSP has volunteered to serve dinner to help them through.

Tonight is our night and we are excited to be helping out! We are blessed to have the opportunity to give back to our friends and to show how much they are appreciated.

I can’t help but think that this is a wonderful example for our children. The idea of looking out for other people’s needs and lending a hand.

I remember when I had each of our children and the ladies brought dinner. I don’t think I had to cook for over three weeks! These ladies blessed my family so mightily, I was blown away.

I want to make sure that someone else knows what that is like….

Does your homeschooling community help in times of need? How so?

4 thoughts on “Ministering With Meals

  1. I haven’t been able to connect to other homeschoolers in my area yet (can’t find them) but I try to do what I can with my kids to help others as often as I can. I want them to learn a lesson my great grandmother (Grandma Jane) taught me from my youth. Giving to others is not only asked, wanted, and/or expected of us as Christians, but a source of blessing. Knowing I’ve been able to help someone (whether it be emotionally, physically, spiriturally, etc) truly warms my heart and strengthens my faith. God truly does bless the cheerful giver. : ) I want my kids to find this out and embrace it too. : )

    Like

  2. I’ll attend my first Christian homeschool support group meeting on Mon., Oct. 15. I’m looking forward to becoming involved and my son and I helping out when and how we can.

    Like

Leave a Reply

