Paella!

Dad CookingToday we once again helped my in-laws celebrate their anniversary and enjoyed the company of our family. New location, new menu, but the fun never changes!

My in-laws hosted today’s event and on the menu… Paella!

My father-in-law lived in Spain until he was in his early twenties and then relocated to the US. One of the traditions that he has proudly passed down, is the making of this spectacular dish. My husband has become quite a pro!

For those of you who might not be familiar with paella, it is a traditional Spanish dish that tastes absolutely marvelous! If you are interested in learning more about paella, Alton Brown does a fantastic job explaining the history and the method in THIS short episode of Good Eats.

As always, the paella was stupendous and the company wonderful. It was a lovely, relaxing afternoon.

I love my in-laws very much! I am so glad that they were able to enjoy this special weekend, surrounded by people who love them.

Does your family have a traditional meal that is taught to each generation?

5 thoughts on “Paella!

  1. That looks awesome! My girls made a version of paella a couple of weeks ago for our Spanish class. We use La Clase Divertida DVD curriculum, and they featured paella one day. They had so much fun! But your father-in-law’s looks MUCH yummier!!! Love the pan!

    Like

    • Thanks, the pans are made in Spain and the burners are handmade by my father-in-law. He is a man of many talents.
      I hope you are enjoying your Spanish lessons and the paella!

      Like

Leave a Reply

