Park Day Resumes

Park DayThe new year is upon us and our support group is back in the swing of things. Today was our first park day back and the kids couldn’t wait to soak up some sunshine and have some fun.

While the kids were running around, the adults had a fun conversation about history coming alive. Many of us had interesting stories of relatives who not only lived during exciting times in American history, but passed down items of interest!

What a wonderful way for our children to learn history, knowing that their own families were a part of the action and possibly played an important part.

One of our families has quilts that date back to the Civil War and antiques which are even older. Most of us had family that came through Ellis Island and have their names in the book. My husband’s great-grandparents actually ran with Poncho Villa (no, seriously; we have pictures)!

I think history takes on a whole new meaning when we have a personal attachment to it. How exciting history becomes when we see it as more than just words in a book, but actual experiences that someone lived through.

What fascinating part of history has your family been a part of?

16 thoughts on “Park Day Resumes

  1. For us, my grandfather along with other relatives were apart of the Civil War in Liberia. I never met my grandfather. He passed away during the war. But that part of history means so much and says so much. Lots of strength.

    Bella

    Like

    • Wow! That is amazing. It would be neat to learn how involved he was and to what extent, I find that fascinating.

      My husband’s uncle was the first United States resident to volunteer during war time (Vietnam) and died while serving. Because of his heroism and his volunteering, a new law was created. Any person who signs up to serve during a time of war, automatically becomes a United States citizen. I find that very touching and it never fails to fill his family with pride.

      What a truly beautiful way to learn the history of not only our family, but of the world! I so enjoy hearing stories about people’s family.

      Thank you for sharing a little of yours!

      Like

  2. First, why aren’t your blogs showing up on Facebook? Second, which aunt do you have pictures of running with Pancho Villa?? I know Grandma’s parents fought with him in the war, but the aunt is a new one. Share please! 🙂

    Like

    • I stopped the links to FB because it wasn’t really accomplishing what I thought it would.

      As for the pictures, I think mom has some of them. But, oops! I seem to have gotten the wrong family member. I will fix the post right now! Off I go!

      Like

  3. One of our ancestors was the First Clockmaker in America. He was also a gunsmith (see how those two could be connected?) Gunsmithing was what made him important to the colony, but clockmaking was his art.

    My husband’s dad was born in the Philippines on the day the American GI’s first flew over Manila. So he was named Victor. It was the most loudly celebrated day my grandmother-in-law can remember.

    Like

  4. Pingback: “Direct your children….” – if not you, who? | The Peanut Gallery

  5. Park Day!!? Where do you live? We are covered in snow and having 20 degree weather! Maybe we should come to your house next park day! My father’s ancestors traveled from NY to Utah with the Mormons and there is a town in upstate NY where some dropped out and settled. It is named after them: Mumford, NY!!

    Like

    • (Laughing) We live California, the home of eternal sunshine. We currently have temps of 70 degrees and clear, blue skies. Should you care to hop a plane to visit, we would be more than happy to have you stay.

      You have a town named after your family? Okay, that just beats all! Have you been to the city? Is there a memorial plaque or a museum to remember them? That is so awesome!

      Like

  6. My great grandmother was the last in our family line to cary true indian blood in her veins (Cherokee) and I remember her telling me stories about how her family line traced back to a full Cherokee Indian chief! I always thought that was fasinating. 🙂 I liked to hear her stories about living in dug outs, traveling from Oklahoma to Kansas back when there were little more than small towns and settlements to move from and to, and about her experiences during the Great Depression. Two of my favorites though involve a story of how she got back with her sister for constantly picking on her by not telling her how to tell if the cow patties were dry enough to pick up and collect yet and about how scared she was at first (and then how in awe and curious she was) when the very first car (at least that she had ever seen) sputtered down the road near her house. 🙂

    Like

    • That is special. I am sure she must have been a good story teller, with lots to share. Imagine her being able to tell you all those stories. What a blessing!

      I believe there might be Cherokee blood in my family line (at least I have always been told so); my grandfather’s grandmother was full blooded. It would be fun to find out how closely we might be related!

      Like

      • I don’t think there is any of the Cherokee blood line left in any of us that followed my great grandma. With the exception of maybe her children. There were a lot of mixed marriages that kind of caused it to wean out of our line.

        As far as her stories though? I could listen to those as often as she was willing to tell them. 🙂 I wish so badly though I could have captured some of them on tape or something. She went Home around 6 and 1/2 years ago and I miss her a lot. She was my best friend. I was at her house almost as much as my own. lol

        Like

  7. You just brought back a memory of a story my mom used to tell me of how her father’s home had a special cave-like area in which they used to hide the revolutionaries when the federales were searching for them. You’re right about history being more alive when we have familial ties to it. Thanks for the memory!

    Like

Leave a Reply

