Now I Know My A, B, C’s

Alphabet_songWith all the “important” things we are anxious to teach our children, it can sometimes come as a shock when we forget some of the most basic elements of learning. Recently, I found myself in this situation.

While sitting in my room, getting some reading done before bed, my son walked in singing the “A, B, C’s” song. (You know … A, B, C, D, E, F, G….) He was very proud of himself and wished to show off his new skill.

Well, so what? (You might be thinking.) But here’s the thing; my son is six! In that moment it occurred to me, I had never taught my kids the “A, B, C” song! Never; not once!

Um, why? Well, frankly, it had never occurred to me. I started teaching my children to read at the age of three and a half. They were fully reading by the beginning of kindergarten. The method by which I taught didn’t use the alphabet, it used phonetics.

Once they learned to read, the next logical step (for me) was to start their language arts lessons. The curriculum taught them how to alphabetize. They didn’t need to learn the song, they knew their letters and how to read.

So, four children later…. In that moment, it gave me cause to reflect. As if it wasn’t bad enough that I had somehow forgotten to teach them to tie their shoes, I somehow overlooked this key lesson as well. Had I robbed my kids by not teaching them how to sing their alphabet? Were they missing an important area of their education?

I quickly called all my kiddos into the room and asked them, “Do you know the A, B, C song?” “Um, of course Mom!”, was the reply. “But how?”, I asked. “I don’t know, I guess we just picked it up somewhere.”

Whew! God had that one covered.

I do wonder though… What other things will I find that we’ve forgotten and were they really important?

In my defense, they DID actually know their alphabet (and how to tie bows, by the way) we had just never formally taught the song or how to tie shoes. That counts for something, right?

12 thoughts on “Now I Know My A, B, C’s

  1. My youngest is 6 and we were at the shoe store the other day. daddy picked out the coolest pair of orange and black shoes. “J” took one look at them and told daddy he couldn’t wear them because they weren’t velcro. I realized I had never thought of teaching him to tie his shoes. At least I know I am not alone. Thank you for the post!!!

    Like

  2. You will find there are many things that fall through the cracks. That’s life. They pick up many things from those around them, so if you choose the exposure carefully, they may have many more happy surprises for you!

    Like

  3. on the other hand, this incident will also teach us that as parents, we pray for our children that they will not be influenced by some ungodliness that they might just have “picked up somewhere” . thanks for sharing this!

    Like

  4. I think the two most important academic things to teach our children are: 1. the joy of learning and 2. the joy of independent discovery. Those two things will ensure that our children will find out on their own what is important for their own growth. You apparently are doing things right. 😀

    Like

  5. Over the years I have been amazed at the simple things I neglected to teach. Somehow they always pick up what they need to–little sponges, those kids! (I wish I could learn through osmosis too!)

    Like

  6. HAHA! I just now realized that my just now 7 year old doesn’t know how to tie shoes. She like ones that slip on, if they aren’t sandals. Much like her mom….guess we’ll get on that.

    Like

  7. Don’t feel too bad. My mother didn’t realize that I couldn’t read until I was in 4th grade. I could write what I saw(kids that sat around me, their papers ), but could not even tell you what sounds the letters in the alphabet made. This is my main reason for homeschooling. Public schools aren’t all bad, but I definitely fell through the cracks in the system.

    Like

      • After I was tested they determined that I had mild dyslexia. The doctor who diagnosed me helped my mom find a private tutor. My tutor and I worked with each other twice a week for a year to master reading. Once I had learned to read I was actually advanced in reading. I’m grateful that my mom was not too proud to get me the proper help I needed.

        Like

  8. Pingback: Ooops, Guess I Forgot to Teach That | A Homeschool Mom

Leave a Reply

