The Next Generation

Baby CousinOh, how I love to talk about education! I love the theories behind what we do, the ins and outs of learning, and the benefits of thorough instruction.

This morning, I had the pleasure of sharing my passion and experience with a younger cousin. She recently had the cutest little girl and is already beginning to ponder her future, which includes her schooling.

Unhappy with what she is seeing in public education, she is seriously contemplating home schooling. As happened with most of us, she is curious about the how to’s and the legal aspects of keeping her daughter at home.

It was so much fun to share the possibilities which lay before her. What a blessing to encourage her in the raising of her beautiful little girl and to ease her mind about areas of uncertainty.

I came home from our morning out, energized and truly excited. There is something revitalizing, when we share our passions with others. Being able to not only do what we do, but help others do something similar for themselves.

What a blessing to see this next generation of mommies arise! To see a concerned group of young people who want more for their children; who are unwilling to let things remain status quo, but wish to purposefully bring up their children to the best of their ability.

I wish my cousin the best, with all my heart. I look forward to watching her little one grow and learn; encouraging and helping in any way I can.

If you could give one piece of advice to new home schooling mommies, what would it be?

“As each has received a gift, use it to serve one another, as good stewards of God’s varied grace” – 1 Peter 4:10

5 thoughts on “The Next Generation

  1. One piece of advice? I would say to follow the still, small voice in you heart. God will lead you where He wants you. It may be unschool, homeschool, or virtual school. Whatever you do, pray first and listen to Him.

    Like

  2. Like you, I get juiced from sharing about homeschooling with younger moms who are starting to think about it. Homeschooling is not for the faint of heart, and God really uses it to cause me to be more dependent on Him. There are especially challenging days when I doubt the decision to homeschool, but sharing with younger moms re-ignites the fire and excitement to press on in the work God has prepared for me to do.

    Like

Leave a Reply

