A Valuable Lesson… for Mommy

CoffeeI learned a very valuable, personal lesson today. I thought I could control it, I thought I had a handle on things; I now know I was deceiving myself!! I CANNOT drink coffee! (laughing)

The day started out a little crazy, but we soon got things on the ball and headed out the door to a birthday party. To make things more fun, the party was at the beach! Hooray! The party was for a very special little girl, one of the most adorable little ladies I have the pleasure of knowing.

Pizza, drinks, and cake under our belt, we headed into the great outdoors and enjoyed some playtime in the sun and sand. There was a huge swell hitting the shore all the way up from New Zealand and the waves were truly breathtaking. Unfortunately, this meant the kiddos didn’t get much swimming in, but they got their feet wet and had lots of fun.

Having run out of meter money and wanting to hit the road before it got too late, we tossed the munchkins into our SUV and hit the road.

Now, this is where the important lesson began….

My hubby was extremely tired (having run around with me for two days), so I was doing the driving. I have never driven home from the beach before so I was a little nervous about getting myself lost.

I did okay for the first little bit, but when I got confused about a particular freeway interchange, I asked the man’s opinion and went with his advice. Well, it turns out he was so tired he heard me wrong and I got onto the wrong freeway. Still no trouble yet….

We laughed about it, he teased me about it, and we decided we ought to turn around. This is when things started to get funny (well, not really).

During this whole mix-up, I had been taking swigs of my husband’s coffee to parch my thirst and wasn’t paying attention to how much I had drunk.

After turning around and getting back on track, we suddenly hit a wall of traffic which ended up taking us three and a half hours to get through!!! By the time we were less than halfway home, the coffee hit my nervous system and sent me into overload.

It felt like someone had electrified my entire body and everything was beginning to irritate me. The air conditioner bothered my skin, the sun was too hot, and to top it off, the kids started to get antsy.

My poor little kids, who were tired and hungry, were ready to get out of the car and stretch their legs. Being boxed in a canyon, there was no way out and no way to move.

We did finally make it home; thank goodness! The minute we pulled into the driveway, I jumped from the car and went to water my roses in peace. Thankfully my awesome husband got everyone inside and let me have a moment to breathe.

After getting some fresh air, peace and quiet, and a shower, I am almost back to normal. Perhaps eating a little and diluting my blood system will put things back on an even keel.

After all this madness I learned two valuable lessons… 1) NEVER drink caffeinated coffee again; I mean NEVER! and 2) It might be best to hit the beach earlier in the day, so as not to sit in traffic. (laughing)

What does help when your system gets overloaded with caffeine? Ideas?

6 thoughts on “A Valuable Lesson… for Mommy

  1. I can’t go without my coffee but I have an excuse: I’m an “old man” and need it to get my joints lubricated and my limbs working!!! 😀
    Okay, that wasn’t fair to you either! I really couldn’t tell you what would work, as I have drank coffee on and off all my adult life (thanks to my loving wife!) but I guess like in all things, either moderation or like you stated, abstinence! I love though how you can take a trying time and turn it around so humorously — it’s the kids that do it, I know that secret! 😉
    God bless for a little insight into your heart!

    Like

    • Please, no worries! Most of the drive home was actually a lot of fun. Frank kept hanging out the car window trying to take pictures of traffic and the hillsides. We spent time talking and visiting. It was the coffee that was the problem (laughing)! Next time, no coffee! 🙂

      Like

  2. I’m not a coffee drinker either . . . once, my mother-in-law sent me some “women’s one-a-day multi vitamins” and after a couple of days of taking them and feeling nauseous and jittery afterwards, I read the label more closely only to find out they contained caffeine – about the same as a cup of coffee! LOL. Needless to say, I didn’t take those anymore!

    Like

Leave a Reply

