Work Hard, Play Harder: Break Time

MiceToday we did something absolutely remarkable… nothing! Well, sort of. I planned absolutely nothing. That kinda’ counts, doesn’t it? After weeks of running around like crazy and doing some fun summer activities, the kids and I decided to take a day to not plan anything and just to relax.

I did something I haven’t done in ages, I stayed in bed until eleven o’clock; yup, that’s right. The man and I decided to have a lazy morning and just cuddle. It was so nice to not feel the need to rush around. I absolutely adored it (and wish we could do it more).

We hit the showers, got some food in us, and then decided to watch a flick with the kiddos on the couch.

Feeling a little peckish, we got busy in the kitchen and made some snacks (which we’ll share with you tomorrow).

Now, the bambinos are still passed out on the couch reading and relaxing. I’m getting a little fun research and minor stuff done on my computer, while my husband has nobly gone to work in his office. Perhaps I’ll grab one of my summer reads and keep him company.

Ah! While I enjoy being productive and doing things with the kids, every once in a while it’s fun to plan absolutely nothing. A day to simply relax and enjoy life, to appreciate rest.

When was the last time you were able to have a break?

10 thoughts on “Work Hard, Play Harder: Break Time

  1. What an amazing day! I think our kids are usually happy doing something around the house, but we have ourselves programmed differently. We feel like we have to always be on the go so we get the most out of like. I’ll never forget talking to my sister one day. She was planning a trip to the zoo that day and her little boy was in the background begging to stay home and play outside. She won. He was on his worst behavior at the zoo. Sometimes we need to slow down and listen to the kids! 🙂 Have a great day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

