How Pin-teresting: Kitchen-Aids

I have been stuck in my kitchen for the last two days, or at least that’s how it seems. With the holiday upon us and a slew of new recipes waiting to be tested, sitting down was a thing of the imagination.

With the help of our handy-dandy Kitchenaid appliances (and the excuse of a celebratory event), we put some of our Pinterest recipes to the test. How did they turn out?….

RibsSomething about having ribs for the Fourth of July just sounded right. It reminded me of all those outdoor picnics and BBQ’s we’d had when I was growing up. So, one of our first “pins” to be tested yesterday was Baby Back Ribs. Oh, my! Let’s just say these babies were so delicious they are going to be added into our regular cooking schedule. They were absolutely simple to make and were extremely tender.

What would ribs be without a few good sides? The kiddos and I made some corn, flavored with garlic and chili powder; then we decided to make some Roasted Potato Slices. This too was easy and was the perfect complement to our meal.

Can one possibly have a rib dinner without biscuits? Heaven forbid! So, we dug out our nifty food processor and got busy making THESE beauties. The one change I would make to this recipe would be the thickness of rolling out the dough. My recipe, for some unknown reason, said to roll the dough out to three-fourths of an inch thick. When baking them, they didn’t quite turn out as fluffy as I would have liked. I think perhaps next time, we will double the thickness of the dough and try this again. They did taste fantastic though!

Apple pie just screams “America”, so apple pie was on the menu as well. I confess, I Apple Pieactually made two. One just for my guy and another for me. You see, he doesn’t seem to like Dutch Apple Pie very much and I don’t like pie crust (I know, it’s a crime). For our pies, I would love to tell you we followed a recipe, but honestly we just winged it. We did use a “pin” for the crust though. For never having done so before, I think we did pretty well.

Still in the mood to do some experimenting, mom decided she was going to make something just for herself. (Hey, it’s okay once in a while!) For some time I have been wanting to have coconut-lime sorbet and this seemed like a good opportunity. This was the easiest recipe for sorbet I have ever come across. Combining the ingredients took a whole two minutes and, using our ice-cream maker, the finished product was done in about fifteen. I am extremely pleased with how this turned out. It is refreshing and delectable. (For those who are opposed to using rum in their cooking, you could always use extract or omit it altogether.)

Well, that just about did it for yesterday. However, when I woke this morning, the bug had bit me again. The freezer was empty of waffles and we were out of salsa (gasp!), so this prompted another session in the kitchen setting things to rights. While there, I thought to myself, “Self, why don’t we make some humus and roast garlic for sandwiches?” So, I did!

Roasting garlic and bell pepper is so easy! Chop the tops (and remove seeds from the bell), toss in olive oil, throw in a roasting pan, cover with foil, and bake at 350 degrees for about an hour. The end result is out of this world! We use these for sandwiches during the Red Bell Humussummer, but today we were using them for humus as well.

Never having made it before, but always willing to try something new, I did some searching via Google and came across several different versions. In the end, I pretty much ignored them all and went with my gut.

Roasted Red Bell Humus

  • 1 can garbanzo beans (retaining a little of the water)
  • 2 tbsp. olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 tsp. paprika
  • roasted red bell
  • roasted garlic
  • 2 tsp. Old Bay seasoning
  • 2 tsp. lime juice

Combine all of these ingredients (with a few tbsp. of the garbanzo water) and blend until smooth. (Most of the original recipes also call for Tahini. Next time I would like to try this, but the man didn’t seem interested, so we went without this round.)

With all that cooking accomplished, one might think I would be done for the day, but not so. It seems these people actually want to eat dinner. Seriously? Oh, well! Back into the kitchen I go.

Tonight’s menu is homemade mac and cheese. (This is truly a self-serving recipe for me. I am making this tonight to prep for what I really want tomorrow. I am going to try making my own mac ‘n cheese balls! Never had them? Blow your mind food, right there! That and some BBQ chicken sandwiches tomorrow night… Ah, it doesn’t get much better!)

Now it’s your turn! Leave a comment telling us about your newest Pinterest attempt and include a link so we can all give it a whirl!

8 thoughts on “How Pin-teresting: Kitchen-Aids

    • And rob the world of such awesomeness; perish the thought. I don’t usually post on food myself, but every once in a while (when food is incredibly inspirational or the kiddos help cook) it is nice to encourage others to get in the kitchen.
      Those cookies look so inviting! We’re definitely go to have to give those a whirl! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

