A Charity Case

Charity… the voluntary giving of help, typically in the form of money, to those in need; kindness and tolerance in judging others.

Charity can be hard. Oh sure, on occasion we might be willing to dip into our pockets and throw some extra change at a person in need, but committed giving or the giving of more than our money can often be a challenge.

Teaching children charity can be even more of a struggle. Money is a rare commodity in Teaching Charitytheir little worlds; so when they grab a hold of a few extra coins, giving them away can be a struggle.

I think passing along the value of charity is important though. It goes far beyond the giving of actual currency and deals with the matter of the heart.

When we are charitable, we are helping. Charity means we are no longer thinking of our own good, we are choosing to put someone else before ourselves and edifying that other person.

Often when we think of charity, we imagine organizations or ministries which require financial assistance. My goal is to encourage our children to see past organized charity and instill charity into every aspect of their lives.

If charity is helping and kindness while making judgements, then charity should be a portion of our daily living. Every moment of our day should be filled with tenderness, sympathy, and benevolence. We ought to look for ways to reach out and help those in need, no matter how small the act.

We ought to be charitable when handling matters within our own homes. Mommy needs to be charitable when correcting lessons and training her children. Children need to be charitable when their siblings choose to fight or make mistakes.

While I absolutely encourage and train my children to help out those in need and give financially to organized charitable groups, I just as strongly want to encourage daily charitable activity.

When we have a heart of compassion, the willingness to part with our hard-earned cash will be that much easier.

How are you helping to instill charity in your family?

“Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience.” – Colossians 3:12

7 thoughts on “A Charity Case

  1. We don’t have a lot of money to give, but at times when I can give extra, I have the boys drop the money in the jar or bucket on a counter throughout the year or those red kettles at Christmas. Now that their understanding is starting to get better, I also have them help me when I gather their old things that are still in good condition and I let them help give them to the workers that show up or put them on the counter if we drop them off ourselves.

    I always tell them who they’re helping and why we do that and they get such huge smiles from being able to help. : ) I also try my hardest to make sure they welcome the new kid or are kind to the outsider even if the other children are not. Reminding them of what they feel like when they are singled out by bullies or left out of play time (which sadly happens a lot) and that those are probably the same feelings said child is going through at the moment. I love to see their hearts and arms open wide during those situations and especially the times I don’t have to do any prompting first in order for them to act. That has been happening more and more lately and it lights up my whole heart. 🙂

    They are by no means perfect at all this, but then who of us is? They’re learning the idea though and that is important to me. : )

    Like

  2. I think children learn this best by example. If we’re just charitable and don’t make a huge deal about it, they learn that it’s simply the right thing to do. Compassion should be a natural thing, not something we pat ourselves on the back for. I love what dogfordavid said above about reminding them how they would feel in the situation of others.

    Ugh. I’m rambling and not making sense. I better get back to work before my brain completely gives up on me. LOL

    Like

  3. I always taught my kids, now adults, that true charity, as expressed in the Word of God, is completely selfless. There must be no feeling of expectation of reward whatsoever, of any kind, not even the inward self gratification that Christ pointed out. True charity is much more than love, as some of the “new” Bibles write it. It can be defined as selflessness.

    A good saying to rehearse to your little ones is – Jesus first, others second, me last. That is where the very old saying came from – “Charity begins at home.” If children give their siblings the last piece of cake, or the better seat at the parade – thinking only of their well being – that is charity.

    Like

    • I use the Keepers of the Home book for our girls group, but I have never tried the character series. Perhaps I ought to take a look.
      In the past, I have always used KONOS which focuses on Biblical character for our homeschooling. Now that we are no longer using KONOS it might be worth the look. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

