Homeschooling 101: Developing Your Educational Philosophy

The next essential step in a successful homeschool journey… establishing a philosophy for learning.

Philosophy – a theory or attitude held by a person or organization that acts as a guiding principle for behavior.

……

Homeschooling101No two homeschooling families are the same. Each of us is uniquely equipped to pursue the path the Lord has given us. Why then, should our philosophies on learning be any different?

Through both prayer and discussion with your husband (steps 1 & 2 of Homeschooling 101), begin to establish what it is the Lord wants from your family in this adventure called learning.

Now, by philosophy, I don’t mean which method of teaching you wish to subscribe to (that is a whole different ball game). What I want new families to focus on, is listening to the call of the Lord and hearing what He is asking of their homeschooling.

For example, in our home, our learning philosophy is thus: We want our children to read well, write well, and think well, all to the glory of God. Our belief is that we do not yet know where the Lord is calling them to serve, either in ministry or in a career. By developing these three areas, we are preparing them for whichever field He calls them to. No matter what else we do, no matter which “method” of learning we choose, these guidelines rise above the rest.

Knowing the guiding principles of our homeschooling gives us a constant ruler by which to gauge all our choices for the long haul, helping eliminate the seemingly overwhelming amount of directions to choose. Is this curriculum helping us to further our goal? Is this activity going to reinforce our mission?

Before deciding on which curriculum is best or to which “method” of teaching you subscribe, first take a moment to let the Lord lead your home. Which direction is He most wishing you to focus on?

Veteran Parents: How did you establish the philosophy behind your family’s homeschooling?

“…that the man of God may be perfect, throughly furnished unto all good works”
– 2 Tim. 3:17

14 thoughts on “Homeschooling 101: Developing Your Educational Philosophy

  1. Even though we have been homeschooling for about three years now, this information is much needed for my husband and I. Thank you for bringing this to light, heading right back to the drawing board.

    Like

  2. I think this being just the beginning of our second year homeschooling we are still fine tuning it. Our motto right now is Philippians 2:14 “Do everything without complaining or arguing” It is a good reminder for us all as we work out the kinks and continue to adjust to the changes. It is evolving into something deeper. I really enjoyed this post. Thanks for sharing. ~Blessings~

    Like

  3. “I want my children’s education to produce in them beautiful minds that continually thirst for knowledge and the analytic skills to evaluate the knowledge they acquire according to God’s standards.”

    I developed that philosophy by praying as I worked through Cathy Duffy’s book. It made me think about a lot of things that I hadn’t considered when I started on our homeschool journey. I actually find the first third of the book way more helpful than the curriculum selections and I suggest the book as a jumping off point whenever I encounter someone else just starting. It doesn’t go in depth about everything, but it does present a good overview that allows you to decide what you want to investigate further.

    Like

  4. Oh how I’ve missed reading your posts! It’s been awhile since I’ve been to wordpress. Anyhoo, thanks for the reminder. Been meaning to make a somewhat mission statement to our homeschooling since it’s our first year… I’ve made the quarterly targets to guide me in evaluating my son but haven’t really pondered on the basic philosophies that I need to adhere whilst homeschooling. Again, thank you! God bless you =)

    Like

  5. Pingback: Our Homeschooling Philosophy | Lessons and Plans

  6. Reblogged this on Same Deep Water As You and commented:
    I often feel that I don’t write enough here, but I then realize I don’t know what to write. I haven’t been doing this long enough to have a lot of advice to offer. I guess I could present personal stories of our homeschooling but I honestly feel like it is banal. I love the time I get to spend with my son but I just don’t know how exciting I can make sentence diagramming and Latin translations.

    Anyway, The Homeschool Mom has been putting out a series of posts called Homeschooling 101 that I have found very interesting, especially this one. So I am sharing it with my answer to the question she asks at the end of the post hoping someone will find it helpful.

    “I want my children’s education to produce in them beautiful minds that continually thirst for knowledge and the analytic skills to evaluate the knowledge they acquire according to God’s standards.”

    I developed that philosophy by praying as I worked through Cathy Duffy’s book. It made me think about a lot of things that I hadn’t considered when I started on our homeschool journey. I actually find the first third of the book way more helpful than the curriculum selections and I suggest the book as a jumping off point whenever I encounter someone else just starting. It doesn’t go in depth about everything, but it does present a good overview that allows you to decide what you want to investigate further.

    Like

  7. Thank you for this! We are beginning our homeschool journey this next school year and this is definitely something my husband and I will be discussing! God just keeps leading me in directions that confirm more and more that we are making the right decision to homeschool! Bless you!

    Like

  8. Pingback: Revisiting Homeschooling 101 | A Homeschool Mom

  9. Our priority is emotional health. It may not sound that grand, but both my husband and I went through the mill at school and in our childhoods, so we have learned the vital importance of giving feelings their due respect. This does not mean that we only do what we ‘feel like’, or expect our daughter to enjoy everything! It means that if it’s a choice between suffering in order to meet a goal that comes from inside our heads or from some external influence, or taking a less painful and more constructive path, we choose the latter. We focus on learning real discpline, not forcing externally-concocted rules; on being able to express emotions in a healthy way, neither ‘putting a lid on it’ nor ‘dumping’; and on the well-being of all members of the family. It take time and efffort to make emotional health a priority, and on occasion some school subjects have to take a back seat, but homeschool allows families to cope with what is not love, clean it out, and get back to love again – which is such a wonderful opportunity!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

