Homeschooling 101: How Now Do We Learn?

The next step in a successful homeschool journey… knowing your child’s learning style.

……

Homeschooling101There are so many choices when it comes to homeschooling. Various methods of teaching, curriculum, and activities available can be overwhelming and sometimes confusing. One simple way to narrow down your choices: Discover how your child learns best.

No two children are alike, not even the ones in your own home. If you want your child to succeed in his pursuit of learning, knowing how he learns is essential. It isn’t enough to simply plunk down a book or plug them into a computer, we need to have a better understanding of how their minds work and build a homeschooling routine around their personal needs.

A good starting point, in determining a child’s learning style, is to give them a quick learning quiz. Not sure which quiz to use? Here are several to choose from:

VARK
Educational Planner
Edutopia
School Family

With a better understanding of how your child learns, you can now go fully armed into the “World of Curriculum” and choose wisely.

Veteran Parents: How did you determine your child’s learning style?

“An intelligent heart acquires knowledge, and the ear of the wise seeks knowledge.”
– Proverbs 18:15

10 thoughts on “Homeschooling 101: How Now Do We Learn?

  1. You mentioned teaching styles. My wise friend always reminds me that just as important as finding our children’s learning styles is discovering our own teaching styles. She knows she wouldn’t be successful if she taught like me, and I wouldn’t be successful if I tried to teach like her! No two children — or parents– are alike! 🙂 I’m not a “veteran parent”… sorry! 🙂

    Like

    • I completely agree (this is part of tomorrow’s post, incidentally)! We need to identify not only how our children learn, but how we can teach to that learning style, in our own way.
      If you have been homeschooling even one year, you are a veteran. Being a veteran (in any field) is not determined by how long you serve, but by the fact that you have ‘done time’.
      This is great wisdom; thank you for taking the time to share!

      Like

  2. This is of utmost importance. I learned through trial and error. When we were constantly battling each other, I finally figured out–hey, she doesn’t learn this way. Back to the drawing board. This happened quite a bit for a couple of years. Now we are grooving–for the most part. I did use a book called Discover Your Child’s Learning Style. What I learned most from this was the I had to determine my own style and realize that my daughter and I were different. Not bad. Different. Not wrong. Different.

    Like

  3. This is something I think I will do with both of my kids because as much as I love both of mine but I don’t want to have the same issues I had last year. Especially with my son. Hopefully it will be better 🙂

    Like

  4. Pingback: Revisiting Homeschooling 101 | A Homeschool Mom

  5. Pingback: Do I Have a Home School Method? | A Homeschool Mom

Leave a Reply

