Mumbler!!

Have you ever noticed that most mumbling is due to an attitude problem? Oh, sure; there is the occasional shy person who needs to speak up or the person who likes to talk to themselves out loud (guilty!), but usually… it’s just plain, old, bad manners!

Rather than say something directly to you, some find it easier to express their unhappiness through snide comments and disrespectful remarks; indistinguishable, but heard none-the-less.

So when this nasty, little habit starts invading our home, it’s time to do some pest control and rid ourselves of the mumbles.

I think, most often, the root of mumbling is an ungrateful heart; someone is unhappy with the situation at hand. When things don’t go their way, the grumbling and mumbling commences.

There are several problems with this scenario. First, the mumbler is not going to be heard and the problem will never be resolved. Second, the mumbler will continue to harvest those bad feelings and become even more upset. Thirdly, the ‘mumblee’ is left unable to address any complaints and remedy the situation.

How does one go about solving the mumbling condition? One of two ways:

  • Talk it Out: When at all possible, I make my children stop (mid-mumble) and speak clearly enough to be heard. We attempt to work through the situation and address our problem. When the conversation is finished, we resume our activities. If, however, this option does not work, we move onto to option number two….
  • Training Commences: I would prefer to never discipline my children. I’d like to think they are so loving and wonderful that a simple talk would fix the world and we could all move on with happy lives. Reality Check… not going to happen as often as I would like. So, unfortunately, discipline needs to be given. How you choose to discipline is entirely up to you, we have our own preferred methods (which is an entirely different topic for another day) which we employ regularly.

I cannot begin to express how much I dislike mumbling. I have been known to halt everything just get this phenomena to stop.

I have no issue with an open discussion of a difference of opinion; in fact, I welcome it. These talks often lead to some awesome discussions and helpful insights into my children’s minds. Mumbling, however, is neither helpful nor productive.

Parents: How do you handle things when the mumbles become overwhelming?

“Do all things without grumbling or questioning,” – Philippians 2:14

9 thoughts on “Mumbler!!

  1. Grumbles get axed fast. The “mumbles”, well, we just had a couple of sessions with a speech therapist for my middle daughter (7) who seemed to mumble a lot. We just couldn’t hear her. She worked with her and a sound monitoring machine, and we learned a couple of techniques. The mumbles have pretty much resolved with her own self-awareness. The grumbles, we, too, rid ourselves of. I think it means they don’t have enough to do so we clean the house. Yeah. That diureses all of their grumbles quickly.

    Like

  2. I wouldn’t classify as mumble but rather murmur. My children don’t voice it but I still address the looks/attitudes when they arise . Generally merits a conversation; sometimes short and sometimes TOO long.

    Like

  3. There’s bad attitude mumbling and there’s poor speech mumbling. Whatever you call it, it’s the attitude that you’re talking about and not the speech. I think sometimes people think my introvert is mumbling but he’s just not the best speaker – which we’re working on. 🙂 I think the video is funny. I might try that line on him to help him relax and not take the criticism personally.

    Like

  4. Lucky for us, Grace isn’t a grumpy mumbler, but when I taught public school, I came across this a lot. It was dealt with swiftly…military precision style. 😉 I can’t stand it for all of the reasons you listed. I have to say, though, even higher on my list of “pet peeves” is eye rolling…oh, a good roll of the eyes really gets me grumpy. :/

    Like

  5. Eye rolling, mumbling, arms crossed, and the exasperated sigh…Corde seems to be giving all the classic teen signs and she’s only ten! I fear for what will come of the teen years if I don’t put a stop to it. I used to have a handle on it, but she went on visitation with her dad and came back with more attitude than an emo/goth girl on a family sitcom. Nothing I used to do before works now. Bad attitudes are certainly not something that wins you anything around here.

    Like

Leave a Reply

