Flipped Out

I like education; not just homeschooling specifically, but education in general. I find it simply fascinating. Given this propensity for learning, it should not come as a surprise that I like to keep tabs on the latest and greatest in all realms; public school included. The newest rage I have enjoyed reading on… The Flipped Classroom.

If you are like I was, you might be a little in the dark as to what this means. Rather than explain it myself, please take a momentary detour over to this helpful website which will answer any questions you might have!

Peter Pappas: The Flipped Classroom

Are you back? Okay; great! Let’s move along…. I am fascinated by this concept.

I was a little concerned when I first read this. You mean kids would have more to do at home? How much more homework can you give a kid? I realize now I wan’t fully understanding the concept. In place of homework, kids would be listening to a lecture at home. The next day, work would be done in class. Ah-ha! (Lightbulb!)

I realize public schools have no reason to listen to my little ‘ole opinion and I really have no intention of sending my kids into public schools, but I’ll share my thoughts anyway.

This idea has merit. Theoretically, children will actually spend less time doing outside work and more time with their families. Teachers won’t have to spend class time going over a concept again and again, but helping kids with actual work. Parents can listen in and help their children understand what the teacher is trying to communicate and be a part of the learning process.

Flipped-Classroom-Infographic

While I don’t think this is going to solve even half of the system’s problems, this seems like a positive beginning. It will be interesting to see how this develops.

On a personal level, I realize I do this with my own kids. Our children often watch short clips on topics we are going to be working on in our learning day. This saves me the time of lecturing and often does a better job than I could have. It’s a win-win situation.

As I mentioned, we have no intention of changing the course we have begun. Homeschooling has always been our calling. However, I have really appreciated this glimpse into the newest ideas regarding education in general.

Your Turn: What do you think of “The Flipped Classroom”? Would any public school teachers care to contribute their experience and wisdom?

8 thoughts on “Flipped Out

  1. It’s an interesting educational option, but I wonder if it will reinforce the disparity between students who do the homework and students who don’t. Some kids can still limp along without doing the homework, but if they’ve never seen the concept taught and then are required to perform it as a skill straight away . . . I wonder if more students may be tempted to give up and check out. It also may reinforce social inequities in situations where there is a broken or dysfunctional family at home. Also, what about poor urban centers where having technology at home isn’t a given? I also wonder about the idea of the concept being taught at that late time in the day when brains aren’t as receptive as the early morning hours. Needs more chewing in my brain. Certainly some of these concerns could be addressed.

    Like

  2. Theoretically. Let’s start there. I think it can be a more productive way of teaching. It also implies the involvement of the parents and a very willing student. As a tutor for public, private and home-schooled kids, the big different between successful and failing kids is their interest in the subject and a willingness to work and fight to succeed. A lot of my students have lost that joy of discovery so necessary to real learning.

    Like

Leave a Reply

