From the HM Bookshelf: Don’t Check Your Brains

Here we are once again with our monthly feature: “From The HM (Homeschool Mom) Bookshelf”.

This month’s read discusses something which is especially important to our family,  apologetics and logic.

I pray this read will inspire you to do further research on your own and, at the very least, initiate a little intelligent conversation.

……

Dont-check-your-brains-at-the-door1Josh McDowell is an exceptional author. I have enjoyed reading a great many of his books. When I came across one of his books geared toward children, I knew I needed to take a thorough look at what he was offering. Don’t Check Your Brains at the Door certainly didn’t disappoint.

Mr. McDowell, along with Bob Hostetler, carefully and clearly lays out a thorough case for not only what we believe as Christians but why. Don’t Check Your Brains… consists of six major sections, each with subchapters explaining various aspects of the Christian faith. You will hear about myths relating to God, Jesus, the Bible, the Resurrection, and more.

There are a total of forty-two chapters in Don’t Check Your Brains…, each covering an important area of debate among various world views and within the “church” itself. While the number of chapters might seem hefty, don’t let that bother you. Each chapter is quite short and to the point, with a little food for thought and some verses to back up the point being taught.

We are very much enjoying this book. It is a great apologetic study for kids, teaching them to logically think about their faith. It stresses knowing why you believe these things and encourages our children to ask those tough questions.

I don’t know about you, but I don’t want my children following faith blindly; not even my own! I want them to own their faith for themselves and to be armed with answers. I want our children to seek out the truth and not be afraid of what they find.

If you’ve never read any of Mr. McDowell or Mr. Hostetler’s books previously, this might be the time to give them a look. There has never been a more important time to know what you believe and why.

We should not be afraid of questions and we should not be afraid of the truth. Let’s not raise a generation of unthinking children.

Which apologetic book do you use with your own children?

11 thoughts on “From the HM Bookshelf: Don’t Check Your Brains

  1. So this is a book tovread with your children? Though I’m not Christian, my daughter feels at home in Christianity. I want to support her in her choice of faith. I know nothing about apologetics, but it seems to be a common topic with Chritian homeschoolers, and if it helps her get a deeper undwrstanding, it may just be worth it.

    Like

      • I was more thinking it might have been something for the adult that could filter on to the child. It sounds like it’s exactly what I’m looking for. I’ll add it to my list. Thanks!

        Like

  2. We don’t use any apologetic texts. I back up against the wall of faith, and I say, “I don’t know the answer. Sometimes it just doesn’t make sense. This is what I have been taught, but I don’t understand it. Let’s just do the best we can looking at our Bible, and know that Jesus loves us, died for us and is thirsting for us.”

    Like

      • I feel there are lots of answers and situations that can’t be found in the Bible. For every point I make to a non-believer, there will be a counterpoint. I think my kids will start questioning the Bible eventually; it is inevitable with a mind that thinks for itself. My husband and I both have a faith deeply rooted in—faith. Not whether dinosaurs walked with man. Or which version of the Bible should be used. It’s just faith and an admitting that it doesn’t make sense and it sounds weird sometimes. But we believe it. We feel it. We sense it. And when we don’t, we choose to believe and ask for faith anyhow. Thankfully, it has come. God is good, and how wonderful the love of Jesus for us. And to share that love. Oh, to share it. Which your blog seems to radiate that, by the way.

        Like

      • Thank you; I am humbled you feel that way.

        There are always going to be questions to which I will not have an answer, but, as often as possible I seek to have one. (As I am sure, do you.) Sometimes those answers can be found in the Bible and sometimes they cannot. I find the study of logic and apologetics helps remove some of those stumbling blocks and builds our faith; knowing why we believe is just as important as what. This area of study is a passion for my husband and it is very catching.

        God is indeed good; He will provide answers for anyone who truly seeks them. Great point!

        Like

      • I find my church is very intent on teaching apologetics, and so I let them. When my daughter looks at me confused, we read the Bible verses together. Then I remind her of Jesus’ love and how no theory or hypothesis can ever change that. Whether Pastor thinks that and Grandpa thinks that and her friend Alice thinks that, as long as we all have asked Jesus into our hearts, we are Christians, will receive eternal life, eternal love, and are called to give love. Forgive me for rambling my thoughts. Have a great week and many blessings to you!

        Like

  3. I Love this book!! When I taught 7th and 8th grade, I used this weekly to discuss things the that the kids said they believed but didn’t know why. I actually downloaded the e-book at the beginning of the school year to walk through it with my own kids now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

