Changing the World

There it is, staring me in the face; a clever little app filled with tons of images for me to peruse. The thorn on this rose is the increasingly large numbers associated with each new entry. Hundreds, even thousands, of people following a seemingly long string of pictures covering all manner of lovely topics.

This is quickly followed by a meager, disappointing look at my own images. There are no large numbers, no massive followings, and certainly no hopes of making a large impact… anywhere.

For a moment, I begin to second guess myself. Is there really a point? Perhaps my time would be better served elsewhere. Maybe this is God’s way of telling me I really have no business branching into this venture.

Changing the World

Like most of us, I suffer from the delusion that it would be wonderful to make a significant impact on the world. (Well, I suppose it is a wonderful thing, in fact.) When I close my eyes, I envision myself helping tons of people with… who knows what… it really doesn’t matter. The fact is, I just want to know I’ve made a difference; that somehow my life was used for some greater good.

After a moment of self-pity, I start to hear another voice calmly make its way into my subconscious.

Why does making a big impact necessarily mean being out in front? What would happen if I simply attempted to make a bigger impact where I already am? Forget the large crowds, disregard the big numbers, and just lived better right here and now?

I wonder what would happen if everyone decided to forgo putting themselves on the market and made a pointed decision to make a huge impact in their own homes. In our marriages, in our parenting, in our children’s education, and in our relationships; why aren’t we striving to make huge impacts there, before attempting to change the world?

Perhaps the world would be changed, if each home were changed.

Some might say I am simply mollifying myself with such logic and I suppose that might be slightly true. However, I also think there is a lot of wisdom in this. I don’t need to feed a country, solve the problem of world peace, become an accomplished model, or win a Nobel in order to have a purpose. I can change the world right where I am, with exactly what I am already doing.

These, thankfully, short-lived moments are the delusion. A lie manufactured for those who have a heart to serve, telling us we don’t do enough; falsehoods meant to veer us off course and prevent us from doing the work we’ve already been called to.

I may never have a large following, write my own book, be on television, or be interviewed by Oprah, but that’s okay. I know I am exactly where I’m supposed to be. I am doing exactly what I’m made for. In my own little way… I am changing the world.

Are you?

“All this I have seen, and there was an applying of my heart to every work that has been done under the sun,…” – Ecc. 8:9 

16 thoughts on “Changing the World

  1. Oh, this post needs a “LOVE”, not just a like! So much truth!!! I believe that it ALL starts at home. How can you save an orphanage when you are losing the children that God has already given you? How many people spend so much time in ministry that their home life starts to crumble. It happens. Often. I know God calls some to this life of ministry in the spotlight, but it does require balance which is a concept the world does not understand.
    For what it is worth, I do feel like you are making a difference. I feel encouraged each time you write a post!

    Like

  2. This post resonated so strongly with me. It seems that we live in a society where we are supposed to value ourselves and our work by how much attention we gain, like being famous on some level is a goal worth striving for. And I know that isn’t true. Thank you for the inspiration to just keep working for what really matters.

    Like

  3. Ugh….I get that….I understand that whole “ugh of a mess” in our little brains. In the short time I’ve known you….just through this blog…you’ve made a difference in my life. Thanks for your encouraging words….just what I needed to hear today! Thank you!

    Like

  4. Thank-you for this. Coming back from being sick and weak for so long has left me vulnerable to those same “numbers” and lies about level of importance. I needed this encouragement.

    Like

  5. Love this: “Perhaps the world would be changed, if each home were changed.” So very true. Your post was just what I needed to hear because I was feeling exactly the same way yesterday! For a moment, I was questioning myself too. But we ARE doing such important work, and in our own little ways, I think we are helping to make the world a better place. Thank you for reminding us all of that!

    Like

  6. That’s my goal in life; to die well. Not to die well off with a cozy amount in savings, but to actually have made an solid multi-generational impact for Christ. Years down the road, I will be forgotten, but He always has been, always will be and IS — forever! To Him be all glory and honor.

    Like

  7. Pingback: Bloom Where You’re Planted | A Ruby In The Rough

Leave a Reply

