Keepers #8 (2013-2014)

Well, we are back in action. I confess, I was very nervous the night before. Did I have everything; was I ready; were the girls going to show? As usual, I needn’t have worried about a thing; God had it all under control.

To start off the second half of the year, we wanted to review healthy eating. After the holidays, it can be very hard to put a halt to our sugar intake and refuel our bodies with things more healthy to digest. This was the perfect time to go over the food pyramid, proper portioning, and learn a few new recipes.

Keepers #8 (1-5)

Eating fruit salad, sweetened with honey and freshly squeezed blood oranges.

Keepers #8 (2-5)

Making our own ranch dressing with buttermilk.

Keepers #8 (3-5)

The girls were anxious to mix their own dressing….

Keepers #8 (4-5)

…and give it a try! Eating our salad was yummy.

Keepers #8 (5-5)

Adding buttermilk to our dressing.

Our recipe for salad dressing came from THIS awesome website. I made the ‘bulk’ spice mixture at home and prepped our salad, but in group the girls made their own dressing. We used condiment bottles easily found at any Wal-Mart or Target to shake up and serve our dressing; this made things nice and easy on the girls. They were free to take their bottles home so they could use them in the future on other cooking projects or to recreate the dressing on their own time.

After exploring the world of homemade dressing, we spent a little time talking about fruit salad and enjoying a sample. We talked about the importance of not using sugars in the fruit, but instead supplementing with local honey and freshly squeezed oranges. We also spent a little time talking about the benefits of vitamin C, not only bodily, but in the presentation of the fruit itself (it keeps apples from browning).

Interestingly, after all that food, we still had snack! This brought up an interesting dilemma. It appears one of our girls switched over to a gluten-free/lactose free diet unbeknownst to us! I didn’t know what to do. Luckily one of the little girls who provided snack brought oranges.

However, now I am going to have to come up with a game plan for future meetings. Perhaps I should bring a plate of gluten-free chocolate chip to each meeting, just in case? I don’t want all of our families to worry about this, so I think it should be on me. I suppose I could ask the little girl’s mom to bring a personal snack, but that doesn’t feel right. Hmmm… this might take some thought.

What is your favorite, healthy snack?

8 thoughts on “Keepers #8 (2013-2014)

  1. I’m a bit weird with fruits and veg, in that I don’t like most of their textures. I love veg but they usually need to be well cooked and I get most of my fruits in smoothies, juices or pies. I think you should plan beforehand and perhaps let parents fill out little questionnaires. You could perhaps include a question on their favourite homemade foods with fruit so as to make something everyone can enjoy as well as checking there are no allergies or diet restrictions. Love what your doing! I need to include some healthy cooking classes with my kids as well. I’m just still researching the best diets for a healthy body. This will probably be with our next unit in science about the body. Keep up he great blogging, your a good inspiration.

    Like

    • I actually have questionnaires the parents filled out at the beginning of the year. This particular little girl has a peanut allergy, which we were already aware of and were being careful of. It seems over the Christmas break, her mom added a few more restrictions to her diet and hadn’t gotten an opportunity to inform us. So, when she showed up at the meeting and announced she couldn’t eat, it knocked me for a loop.

      While I would love to cater to each person’s likes for snack time, the whole point is that the girls try new things and that THEY do the cooking. I do not provide snack; each girl signs up for a particular week and they bring something to share. They are supposed to make the snack themselves, nothing store bought.

      This makes things a little more challenging when someone has an allergy. The peanut allergy was pretty easy to handle, but gluten AND lactose; that might pose a problem.

      I’m still praying about how we should best handle this. Thank you for the encouragement.

      Like

      • That was pretty difficult to prepare for in advance then. I cook most of our foods from scratch and I make the fruit smoothies, juices and pies myself, perhaps you could try that. My brother has decided recently to go gluten and dairy free so I’ve had to get creative with family get togethers. I’ve made gluten and dairy free cookies, and cupcakes as well as main dinners. It can be very tricky but there are quite a lot of alternatives. Perhaps stocking a few alternatives, such as gluten free flour, lactose free butter and milk, on the shelves for certain individuals could be a start. I don’t really know, but I think what your doing is very amazing!

        Like

  2. My kids, now in their twenties, remember and are now making their own homemade dressings. So great idea!! As a person with celiac disease, I think the onus is on myself, or in this case the parent, to bring any special food. Besides that it’s taken me years of experimenting with ready-made gluten free products to find something tasty. Kids are already picky, so you may be disappointed that the child won’t, in fact, eat what you kindly brought to the table. I’d call mom!

    Like

Leave a Reply

