Required Reading, Part II

The first half of the year under our belt, it was time to take stock of where we stood and discover if we were ‘on track’ with the year’s reading plans. Would our routine within stand the scrutiny or need to be revamped?

(sigh of relief) Okay, it looks like we are doing just fine! Two of my kiddos are zooming through their reading lists; one of them all done, but for her Bible reading. My little one doesn’t have a required list quite yet, but he too is doing just fine with his reading. So, it looks like our yearly plan is panning out so far.

Having required reads is definitely a plus for all of us. I don’t have to remember to pass out assignments each week and the kids get to choose which books they read on their own, in whichever order they prefer.

The downside… getting the kids to remember to look at their lists. Occasionally I will look in their binders and remind them to get busy on them, but usually they are pretty good at taking care of business on their own.

Third Grade

The biggest struggle is when you have a read that just doesn’t interest them at all. While I would like nothing better than to let it sit by the wayside, this just doesn’t sit right with me. Not everything in life is going to be fun and enjoyable; I think this is one of those areas I need to push. Good literature is never a bad idea, whether or not we think we’ll ‘like it’.

Thankfully, most of their reads are enjoyable. We’ve had lots of fun discussing, critiquing, and recommending various books over the first half of our year. A few of them have movies as well; we watch those whenever possible as well.

Now, let’s hope the second half of the year is as successful as the first!

How do you handle reads which don’t interest your child? Do you make them read anyway or wait until they express a desire to dive in?

8 thoughts on “Required Reading, Part II

  1. I used to make them read it anyway, but I no longer do because I don’t want to take away their joy in reading. If there’s something I really want them to read, and they don’t want to, I’ll either wait or read it aloud to the children.

    Like

  2. Congrats on having a good reading year thus far! My son is behind on his list. I find it so hard to find quality literature that he (he’s 15) will really enjoy. This year I gave him a required goal of reading 16 books – 8 of which were required reading that I chose for him while the other could be chosen by him (approved by me) as long as one of them was on our Orthodox Faith. He’s a slow reader…. and unless the book involves a LOT of dialogue he doesn’t usually get into it much. Our most recent was The Red Badge of Courage…. which I myself found to be quite dull. He chose to read The Two Towers…which while he likes, is sooooo long. I gave in and am allowing he and my husband to listen to it on audible.com while they are in the car going to and back from scouts, skiing, etc. I used to read aloud to him and I miss it… we just stopped this year so I could read history to him because he was struggling with the time it was taking him. I just don’t have time to do both! Sigh….

    Like

  3. I usually make them finish, and then explain what they didn’t like about it. I haven’t done formal book lists, partly because my kids are reluctant readers. (language disabilities make reading difficult and not too pleasurable) What I did this year is simply pull a bunch of books off the shelves and allow them to pick from the stack. I’d love to know where you get your book lists from though, as I am ready to begin pushing a bit more now that my kiddos are getting older. Thanks, and have a blessed weekend!

    Like

  4. My son loves to read so I make sure to get him books he enjoys regularly. However, he knows there’s books he needs to read in order to increase his knowledge and different views of the world he needs to understand. If there’s a book he really dislikes I let him stretch it out to a couple of chapters a day and read it together. His personal library keeps him interested in reading. Yet, we must keep instilling the importance of knowledge and wisdom and sometimes expanding our comfort zones is paramount to that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

