Ready, Set, Read!

It’s sitting in front of me, thick and a little daunting. I have one year to finish this baby. I know I can do it, I just need to be dedicated and make it happen.

Our family has decided we are going to read through our entire Bible in this coming year. Not as a family, necessarily, but each of us on our own. Starting in Genesis and ending in Revelation, we are going to stick to it and finally read our Bible all the way through!

I am ashamed to say, I don’t know that I’ve ever read it all the way before. I’ve read most of the Bible, that I know, but all of it… probably not. This year, and hopefully in years to come, I want to be reading through completely and committing more of the Word to memory.

Read with Me

The book of Numbers always seems to stump me, as does some of Deuteronomy. For some reason reading long lists of peoples and, well, numbers, is always a struggle. I know there is a purpose for them though. Perhaps one way I could make them more enjoyable would be do stop and do a mini-study on the importance of these books.

Reading the prophets, both major and minor, I find very enjoyable. I like history, so these are right up my alley. I also enjoy all of the New Testament. I think Song of Solomon might make me blush though. This one book I might have my kiddos skip, for obvious reasons.

The month of January is almost up! Before I know it, the year is going to be over and we are going to be decorating for Christmas all over again. It’s time to get this ball rolling and set myself up on a reading routine so I can accomplish my goal.

Do you read through your Bible once a year? What routine do you use?

For whatever was written in former days was written for our instruction, that through endurance and through the encouragement of the Scriptures we might have hope.”
– Romans 15:4

4 thoughts on “Ready, Set, Read!

  1. I’m using the Oswald Chambers devotional Bible. I like it because the daily readings include a portion of the OT, a portion of Psalms and Proverbs, and a part of the NT. When I first started reading straight through, I found myself missing the gospels and epistles, so this one is perfect for me because I get a little bit of everything in each reading section. I also really enjoy his commentary.

    Like

  2. I was successful reading the Bible in one year by using the Max Lucado One Year Devotional Bible. Each day was structured starting chronologically from Genesis, but also layering in Psalms, Proverbs, Epistles and Gospels. (Sounds like the Oswald Chambers book Red Head Mom is using). That was BHS (Before Homeschooling) This year I’m using a plan I got off the internet that matches up reading by theme. I have already had more than one day of reading more than that one day’s allotted chapters 😦 But, one day at a time…

    Like

  3. I’ve been reading/listening to a man named Keith Ferrin. His passion is helping people fall in love with, and actually enjoy God’s Word. Some of his tips for reading through the Bible and internalizing what you’re reading are very helpful. You might give a listen to a podcast or two–my vision of time spent in the Word is changing dramatically! That said, the only time I went from start to finish was using a Jon Courson commentary Bible. (He is a Calvary Chapel pastor in Oregon)

    Like

Leave a Reply

