How MY Home Schoolers Measure Up

Whew! I could breathe a sigh of relief. Looking over that clever diagram of how home schoolers are measuring up, I could tell we were doing fairly well and I felt encouraged by how successful home schoolers are doing as a whole.

1-homeschool-dominationThen, a thought occurred to me… this isn’t why I chose to home school. It doesn’t matter how others are doing. What matters is how my home schoolers measure up. Not to someone else, not to a diagram, and not to a standardized test; rather, how they measure up to their own capabilities.

I can see how this diagram really comes in handy. There are people who need to see the numbers before they will believe that home schooling truly is and can be a success. Others need encouragement, seeing the evidence of their hard work. I could see myself using diagrams like this, presenting it to those who might have questions or doubt the outcome of learning at home.

I need to issue a cautionary note though, more to myself than anyone else. My advice is this: ” Self… this is not the measure of your child!” There, I said it.

4-homeschoolers-less-affected-by-external-factors

The minute I start spending more time focusing on whether or not we meet someone else’s standards for my family, rather than on what they need, that is when I lose my way. This isn’t a competition between them and anyone else; they are to achieve at their own pace.

So, while I highly recommend using this as a reference, I also need to ensure I am not using such diagrams as a guide for living. I will not panic if my child is a little below 2-homeschooling-by-the-numbersthe “standard” and I am not going to get puffed up with pride if my child “excels”. I am going to accept my children for what they are, helping them to become the best they can be.

What do you use to help measure your children’s achievements?

“But let each one test his own work, and then his reason to boast will be in himself alone and not in his neighbor.”  – Galatians 6:4

19 thoughts on “How MY Home Schoolers Measure Up

  1. I love what you have shared in this post. I am passing it on. Thanks!

    To answer your question, I have to say that I don’t necessarily use anything to measure the achievements of my children per say. I could say that I am mindful of tests and standards and measures, but I would rather emphasize the importance of the measure my family prefers. The Bible is our preferred achievement measure.

    My husband and I are striving to raise godly children who see their value and worth in a more righteous way. We really want them to be the best they can be as unto the LORD. Whether we are doing academic work, service and ministry, family enrichment activities or any other things, we want them to appreciate that it is because of and for the One who gave to them that they can do. We want them to understand that the character, integrity, heart, mind, and work of a godly man is the truest treasure and highest mark of achievement.

    I will continue to reflect on this. Thank you again for your words and your question.

    Blessings,
    K

    Like

  2. I use everyday activities to tell me. Reading? Recipe following? Purchasing items? I am noticing how much more independent each of my children are with everyday activities. My oldest an follow pretty much any recipe now and my younger two with minimal help. This is only one example, but I am amazed at how much more they can do independently each day. Of course we do an annual test to look at progress and where we need to work, but on a daily basis-I look more at daily activities.
    I agree that we have to make sure we are not comparing our kids to others. It is difficult in our society, unfortunately. There is a lot of emphasis on how kids are doing academically, but that is only one piece of their lives.

    Like

  3. I have to tell you – those diagrams actually helped me a little. We are only two weeks into doing home schooling the old fashioned way – without the help of district curriculum. I worry that we won’t get enough actual education into our day. But, then, I’m also trying to learn to not worry. That is not something that just happens for wishing it, by the way.

    At first, I was letting Ben build and do art all day long, and I would read to him about the various subjects we are tucking in around the edges. We are in that transition phase, where it’s important that he learn to trust me about this home schooling thing, and he is able to start looking forward to learning again.

    Yesterday, we did a wrap-up at the end of our time. We just wrote down what we’d learned, and for homework in the evening, I reiterated some of the things we’d learned by having him explain them to me in writing. He balked at first, but I think that reviewing and re-speaking, and doing some sort of art or visual with the material will help cement it.

    I am envisioning doing this daily and at the end of the month doing another wrap up of what we learned. We could even do a sort of Yearbook project highlighting some of our favorite activities in book form.

    Thank you for the reminders that we are doing this for our own children and their own strong suits.

    Like

    • Oh; I agree! Those diagrams can be helpful as a guide or as an encouragement. I just want to make sure I am not using that as a hard and fast rule for how my children ought to be doing.

      As another lady pointed out, I also want to be careful about ‘bashing’ public education. While I do not agree with most of their organization, this isn’t the purpose of my homeschooling. I homeschooling not because the system is bad, but because it is best for my child.

      It sounds to me like you are already on the right path and doing a wonderful job of finding out what works best for your family.

      Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts! 🙂

      Like

  4. Pingback: How MY Home Schoolers Measure Up | Reformed Christian Heritage News

  5. I have to say that I am torn about homeschooling. I do have my degree in k-6 elementary education, but that does not mean I am against homeschooling. Being in the school systems has actually made me prefer private schools to public schools for sure. I am extremely passionate about helping children grow as individual people who are well rounded; it saddens me that this is not the case for a large number of teachers nor is it for some school districts. I feel that there has been so much taken away from our children’s abilities to learn within schools.

    On the flip side of homeschooling, I have seen both good and bad. I believe that it can be wonderful for children, I have even thought about it for my own children. However, I have seen a small (keep in mind this is really small) group of children come out of homeschooling unable to cope in the real world and unable to get a job because they couldn’t do the basic performance requirements. I have seen the same from public school graduates.

    Either way the child learns there needs to be a good balance of social, technical, and creative learning. I feel that homeschooling can definitely offer the best balance for this when done correctly. I want to thank you for sharing this blog with the world because you do show that homeschooling can be great for children’s success.

    I have now moved to tutoring while I work on building my coaching business so that I can help busy moms lose weight while they enjoy and engage actively in their children’s lives. I am still here for the children and want to see every one of them grow and prosper.

    Thank you for this blog post, I think the world needs to see it.

    Like

    • If we are honest, there is no area of life (excepting Christ alone) in which good and bad does not exist; education is no different. There are going to be good public school experiences and bad. There are going to be good homeschooling experiences and bad.

      Our purpose for homeschooling isn’t that the system is horrible, but that we loved our children too much to be away from them. It is not the school’s job to make sure our children get what they need, it is ours as their parents. If you want to do that via the system, go for it. I just find it easier and more sound to meet those needs in my own home, where I can study their personalities continually.

      No parent is perfect, but, by the grace of God, we are certainly doing our best.

      Thank you for the encouragement; it’s always appreciated.

      Like

  6. Those type of stats always kind of amuse me. So many people say they home school to get away from standardized testing and their children being treated like statistics, but then they focus on statistics to justify their choices. I’m always a little miffed when home school enthusiasts feel like they need to naysay public school in order to shine light on home school. (Not you, the people who made the graphic.) Most of us are doing what we think is best (or as much as we can) for our kids…I think we should be supporting one another instead of judging and comparing. Your kids are awesome (anyone who reads your blog can tell!), and I think you’re absolutely right to just bask in their awesomeness. 😀

    Like

    • Great point, we want to be careful about ‘bashing’ public education. While I do not agree with most of their organization, this isn’t the purpose of my homeschooling. I homeschooling not because the system is bad, but because it is best for my child.

      Thanks for the kind comments! We are certainly trying to do our best! 🙂

      Like

  7. Wow thank you for this; this is good; over the years I’ve seen some homeschooling family homeschooled on what seems the basis that homeschool in of itself will produce all these amazing results as statistics show; I also think we must not forget that things are automatically that way and just having one’s children educated through this way is no substitute for personal holiness and spiritual discipleship. Thanks again, from a homeschooling fan.

    Like

    • It is online and has been going around WP quite a bit this past year. I’m honestly not sure where they come up with these. I’m not advocating the information or even saying it is correct; my argument is that we need to be careful with how much notes like these influence our lives and our children’s education. Good question!

      Like

  8. Thank you for this post. This is something I struggle with so much, even after so many years homeschooling. It’s important to be true to the goals I have for my family and my children, and not pay too much attention to the way other people do things. Comparison so often leads to feelings that I don’t like.

    Like

  9. Well said! This is a message that we need to keep preaching…both to our fellow homeschoolers and to ourselves. It’s all too easy to let our focus, or our measurement of success, get askew. Comparing to others is always a dangerous pastime. Nice post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

