REASON TO HOMESCHOOL #3254

Every once in a while, my husband asks to guest post; addressing concerns which he feels are vital to both homeschooling and families. Today, he shares yet another reason we are thankful for the blessing of home education.

……

By now, many of you have heard about the 9th Circuit court’s decision to allow a California school to prevent students from wearing t-shirts with the American flag in order to favor other students’ celebration of a foreign holiday. Among these judges and school officials are likely some of the same bong-sucking hippies that were burning flags in the sixties and seventies. While their personal hygiene habits have likely improved since then, their ideas still stink.

Others have already pointed out the problem with U.S. judges and school officials giving special preference to foreign loyalties rather than to their own country, which is both unpatriotic and, as far as the judges are concerned, a violation of their oath to uphold our Constitution. There’s a good reason why the 9th Circuit is running either 1st or 2nd for most reversed rulings in the land. It’s also one more reason why village schools are dismal failures at doing their job.

As parents and Biblical theists, we understand that God expects us to exercise loyalty to certain persons and institutions. Where there is a conflict of interest, we are to have fidelity to one person or institution, and where we can have multiple loyalties, there is a hierarchy of priority where some persons and institutions are placed before others.

USA - Patriotic Dreamsicle

For example, since God is the very ground of objective ethics, the first two Commandments requires our loyalty to Him, the only true God. Intimate relations were created to take place within the context of monogamous man/woman marriage, and intimacy with anyone to whom we are not married is a conflict of interest with regard to our spouse, so the seventh commandment requires our loyalty to our spouse.

And then there are institutions in which our duties to them rationally imply fidelity. For example, parents and children have certain duties and responsibilities toward one another which requires that each side place a priority on their own parents or children over the parents and children of other people. So while I can be nice to my neighbor’s kid, my child takes priority and I will place his interests first.

The same goes for nations. We’re commanded to honor the government, because God instituted the principle of government to establish order. Because nations can and do go to war or have conflicted interests, citizens have a duty to exercise loyalty to their own country first. So, as Biblical theists, and to preserve order, we have a duty to teach our children to be patriotic, i.e., to place the interests of one’s own country over that of others. The state also has a duty to foster this national loyalty, if for no other reason than for self-preservation.

At this point, some knee-jerk liberal will be waving her arm like Arnold Horshack in an attempt to ask what she considers to be a clever question:

“Well what if you’re a citizen of a nazi Germany? Are you supposed to be loyal to that?”

As I already noted, where there is a conflict of interest, there is a hierarchy of priority. The scriptures are clear that, where the two conflict, we are to obey God rather than men. So, to answer Horshack, God does not obligate us to obey a command by one’s government (or anyone else) which instructs us to commit or approve of evil.

This brings us back to the California school and 9th Circuit’s decision to oppress students’ patriotism in favor of foreign loyalties. This is a gross dereliction of duty on the part of civil servants, and responsible parents ought to keep their child from being indoctrinated with such misplaced loyalties. Feel free to add this to the ever-expanding list of reasons to offer skeptics when they ask why you homeschool your children.

FG

9 thoughts on “REASON TO HOMESCHOOL #3254

  1. I agree with most of what you’ve said, but the antagonism might be off-putting towards some people who are honestly interested in your perspective.

    At this point, some knee-jerk liberal will be waving her arm like Arnold Horshack in an attempt to ask what she considers to be a clever question:

    “Well what if you’re a citizen of a nazi Germany? Are you supposed to be loyal to that?”

    But not every liberal reader is knee-jerk, and not every person who asks this question is simply trying to be clever. Some might really be interested in what your answer is. And, while I think that your answer to this statement is correct, and well-stated, I think that the well-intentioned questioner may be offended by the name-calling, and may not be reading further. Which is a real shame, because if she had kept reading, she may well have found the proper answer to this question.

    I’m not trying to be antagonistic myself, just offering a suggestion. I come from the perspective of having once been a feminist liberal. So I guess I have a heart for the misguided. If the goal is to lead them to Christ, it’s important that our position, while never tolerant of sin, be a true witness of His love.

    That said, I agree with your position, and am stunned by this unpatriotic decision of the California court. What a travesty!

    Like

    • Thanks for your comment, Alma. Here are a few things to consider:

      1. I can be a bit sarcastic, which, depending on one’s point of view, is either a gift or a curse. However, if I were trying to share the gospel with someone, I would reign in anything that might put them off. The thing is, I was addressing homeschoolers and those considering homeschooling, not lost souls. Nothing I wrote was meant to be viewed as an act of evangelizing the unregenerate.

      2. My mentioning an imaginary knee-jerk liberal wasn’t an assumption that only liberals will disagree with me. While I noted that Biblical theism presupposes certain ideas, I’ve met Christians who somehow have the mistaken notion that one cannot be both patriotic and loyal to God, as if one must choose between the two. Of course, if a dilemma does arise, as I stated in the OP, we simply apply a hierarchy of priorities to solve any conflict. There’s no reason why one ought to take an either/or approach absent any conflict. In any case, I realize that not everyone who asked the question might be trying to be clever; I only gave that as an example.

      3. I didn’t accuse all liberals of being knee-jerk, which is why I used the quantifier of “some”, not “all”. My comment referred to no one in particular, nor to an entire class in general, so there’s no reason one might get upset or offended unless one was, in fact, a knee-jerk liberal.

      I hope that helps explain things. Thanks again!

      FG

      Like

      • Thanks for your reply. I’m glad I didn’t offend.

        I’m not exactly referring to evangelization, although of course anybody could be browsing and I guess any given forum can be used for evangelization.

        But to be perfectly truthful, as I was reading your post, I had that “knee-jerk liberal” question in my own mind. I liked your response to the question, and I was actually swayed by your response, but I guess I felt that I was being pigeonholed as a knee-jerk liberal just for having the question in my mind to begin with.

        I would have preferred if you had just answered the question without defining me (or “some” other questioner) as a knee-jerk liberal. I am not a liberal, but I won’t deny being sometimes knee-jerk, if that means impulsive 🙂

        I am not saying that you should write your blog post to my preference, of course. Just wanted to bring it up as a point.

        I am not American, so perhaps this issue of patriotism aren’t something I have thought about as much as you have. I have an idea that Americans tend to be more patriotic than we are, although perhaps we are getting better at it over the last couple of decades. Anyway, I guess I felt a bit like you thought it was a stupid question to have, and maybe so, but I had it.

        Just my two cents. I do enjoy this blog, and I liked your post. I thought your point was very relevant, it was just the presentation of that one point that kind of bit me.

        Thanks again for your reply!

        Like

      • Okay, I think see where the confusion lies. You thought that if anyone asked that particular question, then they must be a knee-jerk liberal, or so you thought I was suggesting. However, it wasn’t my intention to suggest such a thing at all.

        Obviously there are those who might sincerely have the same question. But the reason I used a knee-jerk liberal as an example is that it’s usually such a person (at least in this country) who ridicules notions of patriotism as either “jingoistic” or as an outdated ideal or both (and oftentimes the reason for such ridicule stems from liberal beliefs in globalism and/or relativism).

        Since the kind of person (in this country) most likely to ask the question for the purpose of undermining the OP are those with a liberal worldview, I chose to respond to such opposition before it even began; a way to “head them off at the pass” (to use a Western locution).

        I hope that eases your concern that I was anyhow demeaning anyone who sincerely had the same question…

        Thanks again for your comments.

        FG

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I enjoy reading your guest post for your sensible posts.
    We are in a period where liberal or progressive or whatever you want to call these people are trying to not offend anyone. This is part of the guilt complex displayed in the country where everything is exaggerated in our society. This decision you mention is a nice example of what is going in this country.

    Like

Leave a Reply

