Rosetta Stone for the Littles?

I admit it. Sometimes I like to take the easy road. Who doesn’t? On occasion, it seems like a good thing to let someone or something else do the teaching so I can take a moment’s break and rest my vocal chords. So, when I spotted a new Spanish program made for the littles in my house, I jumped on the concept and took off running.

Letter SoundsRosetta Stone has created eight, adorable, episodes with themed characters from the “It’s a Small World” attraction at Disneyland. In each episode, we find ourselves discovering a new country. We learn about the food, customs, crafts, and culture of each; along with a few, fun, Spanish words mentioned during each episode.

It seems Rosetta Stone is using these episodes as a catalyst for their newest line of apps, created by Rosetta Stone Kids: Lingo Word Builder, Lingo Letter Sounds, and Arcade Academy.

Here is where inspiration struck. Rosetta Stone is pretty well-known for their curriculum, apps are always convenient and usually fun, and my little will be starting Spanish next year anyway. So, why not give them all a shot?

The initial download for each app was free. I downloaded all three and, during rotations the next day, sat down to do some learning with my son.

Lingo Word Builder – Word Builder includes a few basic games, which make use of your device’s built-in microphone in order to assess your child’s pronunciation. The first game was on Spanish words, which mostly focused on direction and placement. The second was in English and focused on building words. Each game adds toys to your “toy box”, where children can practice saying the name of each toy.

Lingo Letter Sounds – Letter Sounds functions primarily the same as Word Builder. Children can match capital letters with lowercase letters in the first game. In the second game, children learn Spanish words by picking one of three categories to learn from: “dance”, “throw”, and “jump”. Again, each game adds toys to your “toy box”, where children can practice saying the name of each toy.

Arcade Academy – Arcade Academy appears to be made for slightly older children, including several games to increase their knowledge of the Spanish language. There are various missions for them to complete, while learning word phrases and sentence completion.

Word Builder

While all three apps did come with a few included levels, we quickly learned we would need to purchase additional levels in order to continue.

My son always enjoys being on a device. (I think boys come inbred with the need for gaming.) However, as both mommy and teacher, I found these apps a little wanting. Letter Sounds and Word Builder were a little too easy in the English department for my big guy; perhaps these would be best for PreK students. However, the Spanish sections of each game seemed too advanced.

While I will keep these apps on my device for back-up or to entertain the kiddos during outings, I think I am back at square one. While taking the easy road is nice, sometimes you just need to do things the old-fashioned way; person to person. So, starting next year, little man and I will be going through the same Spanish curriculum I covered with his sisters. They did fabulously with our previous program; I’m sure he’ll do the same. No; I won’t get that moment’s break, but he’ll definitely be learning a great deal more and that is the goal.

Have you tried Rosetta Stone Kids; what was your opinion of their apps? Which Spanish apps do you recommend?

14 thoughts on “Rosetta Stone for the Littles?

  1. I haven’t tried Rosetta Stone Kids but I bet my youngest would find it fun. She knows her sister is learning Spanish and wants to try. We use Rosetta Stone for our 8 year old but I don’t find it to be a hands-off lesson time. I suppose it could be but I prefer to sit with her while she does it. I use supplemental materials to teach mini lessons each week on grammar or structure things that Rosetta Stone does not teach. It’s all about how you choose to use it. 😀

    Like

  2. We use the Rosetta Stone Homeschool version (Spanish). My boys (8, 9) just do the speaking / listening; while my girls (11, 12) do the full-blown version which includes the reading / writing. I find that the girls are able to do it alone; I can do things with the other children while the boys work but I do have to periodically help them with words / pronunciation. If I have to help the boys too much on a lesson, I make them go back and review previous lessons. They all love it and I never have to “make” them do it.
    There is a CD with quizzes / worksheets that accompanies the homeschool version plus as an administrator I can track them / see how well they are doing on each lesson. A CD with review words also came with our homeschool pack. The curriculum a family chooses may depend on their motive for learning Spanish; my primary goal is for them to be able to communicate with Spanish speakers. Rosetta seems to be doing a good job for us, but it may not be for everyone.

    Like

  3. Have you tried Duolingo? It’s a free app or you can do it online on a computer. It offer Spanish and many other languages. It isn’t as “young” and colorful, but it does keep Love Bear’s attention (she’s 6). I’m brushing up on my French and leaning Portuguese with the same program. It may be worth a try 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

