Melt My Heart

I truly didn’t see this coming. I’d made candies with the kids before, but this was proving to be extremely difficult. The one I time I didn’t do research and I was learning my lesson. Melting chocolate into molds was starting to get the best of me!

One of the fun, new adventures the kiddos and I are incorporating into our routine is spending more time together in the kitchen. We are planning on expanding our creative skills further than just a quick meal. One area in particular our kids wished to explore was candy making.

Melting Chocolate 101

A few years back, the girls and I made candy using a few Wilton molds. We had a great time and had no difficulty what-so-ever. This time around proved to be much more difficult and I wasn’t sure why. After a little research, here is what we discovered:

Candy is Not Chocolate: While this might seem like an obvious observation, it really isn’t. Melting Wilton’s candy drops is not the same as melting chocolate. Candy drops actually contain palm oil, kernel oils, and, occasionally, paraffin; this helps them easily pop out of molds and prevents them from sticking to each other. Chocolate has no such additives, if you purchase good chocolate.

Wilton Molds Need Lubricating: When using chocolate instead of Wilton candy melts, you really need a lubricant to keep the chocolate from sticking to the molds. We attempted to use coconut oil, but this turned out to be a bust. Instead, Pam cooking spray is recommended for use. The newest of Pam sprays leaves very little residue on your product and leaves no ill taste.

Using a Condiment Bottle Isn’t Always a Good Idea: I like the idea of simply filling a condiment bottle with chocolate and then squeezing the desired amount into solid molds. It sounds easy, but it can also be very frustrating. We found the chocolate in the bottles tended to move slowly and that the nozzle often became plugged with chocolate. Refilling the bottle with fresh chocolate could also be a struggle. Instead, I would recommend investing in a few of Wilton’s disposable bags and a small frosting tip. Using the bags allows you to better control the amount of chocolate being used and makes for an easier refill.

There Are No ‘Fill Level’ Lines on Molds: A few of the molds we were using required the filling of an internal cavity, which then had a second mold to be placed on top; this created chocolate boxes and cups. None of the Wilton molds purchased had a ‘fill line’ to advise when enough chocolate had been deposited. This quickly became very frustrating for us. When did we know we had enough chocolate or too little? The honest answer is, we didn’t! Through trial and error, we had to figure out which was the perfect amount. I would recommend doing this for yourself and then marking the outside of the mold at the fill level. Then, the next time you fill the molds, you will be set.

As I mentioned, our first venture was very little fun and a ton of disappointment. We did, however, learn a lot! (Sometimes that is enough, in and of itself. We took away some valuable lessons with which to apply at a later time.) Now that we have our technique down, we look forward to future projects; hopefully ones filled with more success and less frustration!

What recommendations do you have for melting chocolate into Wilton molds?

6 thoughts on “Melt My Heart

  1. The thing I’ve noticed about Wilton products a lot of times is that they make anyone think they can take on any project. I’ve made cake pops and chocolate molds and even bought their edible markers (ps… They don’t work) and experienced so much frustration. It looks so easy but things can go wrong much easier! I should have taken pictures of some previous fails. That would’ve made for quite a funny post.

    Like

    • You know; I think you’re correct. Wilton products all make it look so easy, but for newbies perhaps we should start with something smaller or easier. Of course, this runs true with a lot of kits. I saw a felting kit the other day I thought I might like to tackle. Something tells me it is going to be a lot harder than they are letting on.

      Although, the first time I did this, things seemed to go much smoother. I think changing out the candy melts for chocolate proved to be the biggest complication.

      I didn’t realize the markers didn’t work. Thanks for pointing that out!

      You SHOULD write a post on all your misadventures! I bet it would teach all of us quite a bit. 🙂

      Like

      • Hmm that’s a good idea. I might even try to take on some projects just so I can have some pictures! Thanks for the idea 😉

        Like

      • Every summer, I test out a few ‘pins’ and share the results of our experiments. This summer we’ll be doing more of the same, as well sharing some of our baking/candy making adventures; there might even be some sewing involved!

        It would be awesome if more ladies did this. We could all share our experiences and offer tips on how to improve future endeavors. 🙂

        Like

      • That sounds fun! I’ve kind of been thinking the same thing. There are so many unreliable pins out there and so many good ones. I’d like to share the doable with the not so doable like the pig cake pops I made that turned out adorable but took like ten hours to make. Since things are just worth spending money on rather than trying to diy! Lol!

        Like

Leave a Reply

