A Cup a Day

The perfect afternoon? A great book, a comfy chair, and a warm cup of tea. The good news? That cup of tea may be just what the doctor ordered! According to a new study, a cup a day will keep you in the prime of life.

I really like tea, so when someone informs me that my habit is actually good for my health, I want to read more. THIS article in Fitness Magazine clued me in to some of the amazing health benefits which come from drinking tea.

Drinking tea is good for your brain, your bones, and your heart! Tea will keep your metabolism going strong and boost your antioxidants. Who knew all of this good stuff existed in that one, beautiful cup?

The warning in all this deliciousness? Stop drowning your tea in sugar and cream! For all us die-hard tea drinkers, we might want to start skipping out on the additives and learning to take our beverage of choice ‘straight up’. Fewer additives mean fewer calories.

A Cup a Day

What I enjoy most about my tea habit, is the myriad of choices available. There are so many varieties to choose from, I could practically go an entire month without ever drinking the same type twice.

Green is by far the healthiest, followed by herbal teas. However, an occasional black, white, or oolong is also very nice. Personally, I like the black best. However, I’m willing to indulge in a little oolong now and again. Generally though, we drink herbal.

How is any of this important or relevant to a home school mom? Let’s think about it. We have a multitude of responsibilities on our plates; we wake up early and go to bed late; our children are constantly on the go; and we too occasionally like a relaxing moment to ourselves. What better person to drink tea! We need all the brain boost we can get and keeping ourselves healthy ought to be a priority. If we aren’t taking care of our bodies, how can we take care of anyone else?

For added fun, get the kids involved! Have a ‘tea tasting’ afternoon and figure out which type of tea they like best. Try tea bags and loose leaf, discover which you prefer to indulge in. To take it a step further, consider making your own tea! Research ways to preserve, dry, and store fresh tea; then, drink it up.

Until recently, our tea cups were sitting in a special tin at the top of our fridge. We only pulled them out on ‘special occasions’. Then, it dawned on me. Everyday is a special occasion! I promptly cleaned out space for them in a cupboard and down they came. Now, our kiddos indulge daily; sometimes twice!

To my joy and surprise, my man went out and bought me a new tea kettle for the stove. Then, he went online and bought me a pretty tea set which I had been wanting for years! (sigh) He is one amazing dude! Now, we can have tea with all our friends.

If you’re ever in our neck of the woods, give us a ring. We’ll treat you to an awesome cup of tea and share a moment of fellowship.

Which flavor of tea is your favorite?

“Fruit trees of all kinds will grow on both banks of the river. Their leaves will not wither, nor will their fruit fail. Every month they will bear, because the water from the sanctuary flows to them. Their fruit will serve for food and their leaves for healing.” – Ezekiel 47:12

11 thoughts on “A Cup a Day

  1. Man, I love tea. This is a bad idea, getting me started. In fact, I have a whole wall cupboard hoarded with 115 types of teas. Right now I’m going through a Ginger Tea in the morning, Ginger Lemon Honey Green Tea in between and chamomile in the evenings just before bed.

    Like

  2. A plug for my favorite tea distributor: http://www.CulinaryTeas.com
    It’s a small online company, but they have great selection and wonderful stories behind their teas. I’m a bit of a tea snob, preferring the flavor and lack of bitter aftertaste that comes from their loose leaf teas (even after they sit in my teapot on a warmer all day). I prefer the Sencha Kyoto Cherry Rose Festival for my green tea fix (it tastes the way roses smell) and the Canadian Ice Wine or Lady Londonderry (strawberry and lemon, yes, it works) in the black category. You also can’t go wrong with their Earl Grey or Chai selection. Mmm, I think I need a cup…

    Like

Leave a Reply

