Stepping Down to Step Up

I could feel it, the anxiety welling up within me. I couldn’t figure out how I was going to break the news to her. It wasn’t that we weren’t having a good time; we were. It wasn’t that I couldn’t handle it anymore; I could, if that is what the Lord wanted. The plain and simple truth was that it was time to move on. I needed to step down in this area of ministry, in order to step up elsewhere.

When you sign up to be involved in ministry, you do so never knowing how long the Lord is going to keep you there. Sometimes He has you there momentarily and others for years. No matter what, you need to be prepared to serve as long as He needs you. Just as importantly, it’s also time to recognize when He’s asking you to leave.

Recently, the Lord made it very clear to me that there was a specific area of ministry that we were being removed from. At first, I thought it was just me. Perhaps I was tired or being overworked; a break was just the thing to fix this momentary setback. But no, the Lord quickly straightened me out and made it known that this was from Him.

Stairwell

While the idea of leaving this particular ministry is saddening, we know this is the right move for our family. This was a big part of our weekly routine and a part of my girls’ learning experience, but we also know there is a world of possibilities waiting for us.

In order to step up in new areas of learning and exploration, it was necessary to step down from this one.

In what areas are we being asked to ‘step up’? In our own home! Sometimes it can be so easy to get over involved in outside activities, that we fail to reach full potential at home. Now, we aren’t talking day-to-day activities here; our house gets cleaned daily, laundry isn’t piling up, nor is our fridge empty.  The Lord is prompting us to ‘step up’ our learning in more creative ways.

Our kiddos are going to be doing more extracurricular activities which they are expressing interest in and exploring various creative endeavors at home. Instead of spending a bulk of our week planning group gatherings and outside responsibilities, we are centralizing our interests, resources, and time; making the most of our day.

With the beginning of our summer right around the corner, comes a change in the right direction. We are excited to see what the Lord is going to do in the coming year and how He is going to direct this new aspect to our learning.

What new changes in learning is the Lord directing in your home?

In their hearts humans plan their course, but the LORD establishes their steps.”
– Proverbs 16:9

4 thoughts on “Stepping Down to Step Up

  1. The Lord spoke to me through you on this one. I needed to hear this so much and I’m grateful that you took the time to write this post. I need to be a better ‘listener’ and ‘follower’ of His direction. This was a great reminder and the timing is perfect. Thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

