How Pinteresting: Hoo Wants to Join In?

One ‘pin’ a week; that is the goal. Nothing too fancy, nothing too far-fetched; just a good opportunity to finally test out a few of those Pinterest ideas and see which ones really work! Join along and chime in; let us know which projects you’ve been working on and how they’ve turned out!

……

Summer_PinterestWhen we can combine our love of learning with fun and art, you know we are going to put it to the test. Settled down at the kitchen table, with all our tools at hand, we were ready to go…

Who doesn’t like owls? They’re cute, believed to be smart, and fascinating to watch. My kiddos enjoy anything remotely related to owls, so this is the perfect ‘pin’ for us to start off with!

Owl Modeling Project

Simple and easy, right? Well… For those who have little to no experience working with clay this might be a bit of a challenge. For adults, this project would probably come out almost exactly like the picture. For the littles, it might prove a tad more difficult.

I created a sample while my children watched, hoping this would help them with making their own owls. I had to start over twice, but finally got the hang of it. I haven’t worked at modeling in such a long time, it took a few minutes to get a feel for the texture of this particular clay.

My girls were able to complete the steps fairly well, but (being perfectionists like their mama; poor things) they kept redoing the project till they felt it looked more like the picture provided. The wings just wouldn’t fold at an exact angle and the ears weren’t coming out even. They did get it after a few tries though and seemed pleased with their project.

My little man had the most trouble with this. He needed to learn the concept of rolling, or pressing, the clay without making it too thin. Once the clay gets too thin, it is very difficult to work with and manipulate. We re-rolled and modeled several times before he understood this a little better. Once we got our initial circle going, he did fine from there.

One thing I will say for this project: besides being fairly simple, it can be made very quickly! From start to finish, the owls took approximately fifteen minutes to complete! (It should be noted, however, that this does not include dry time or painting; which must be done later.)

Rather than make clay (I was feeling rather lazy), I chose to purchase a bucket of Crayola modeling clay which I found for a great price. The clay proved very easy to work with, formed nicely, and cleaned off well. It’s non-toxic and, as I mentioned, a pretty good price for the amount received.

For those die-hard DIYers; here are a few recipes for clay which would also work:

About.com (Chemistry)
Homeschooling Ideas
Clay-It-Now

Overall, this was a great project to have started off with. It was simple, fun, and sparked an interests in my kids. We will definitely be doing more modeling in the future!

Time to Chime In: How often does your family practice modeling with clay? Which recipe do you prefer? (Or brand, if you’d rather buy!)

Care to participate in next week’s Pinteresting project? Take a look at THIS link to get a head start on next week’s ‘pin’!

21 thoughts on “How Pinteresting: Hoo Wants to Join In?

  1. REALLY cute! 😉

    Why did we never do clay? I do not know. We never thought of it, I guess, except when taking an art class. Hmm. That, and finger painting. Never even once thought of doing them for some reason. Ah well. Kids got college, anyway. Ha! Maybe it would be a great job for me as grandmother, to make it happen for the next generation?

    Like

  2. Pingback: Saturday Link Shares | Waldorf Salad and Cottage Fries

  3. I love the idea of Pinteresting 😉 We might join in if I don’t get put on bed rest this week! My boys would really enjoy those necklaces.
    As for clay, I really enjoy the Crayola Modelling Clay too for a quick clay fix. The older kids really get a kick out of the real deal though, and the great thing is that the stuff last forever. I bought a big huge box of it at Michael’s with my 40% off coupon about two years ago and it’s still going strong. We just cut a piece off and seal it back up again really tight. It’s so much more messy though!

    Like

    • I like the real deal when it comes to clay as well, but the kids find it too hard to work with. The Crayola was just the ticket. Perhaps when they are a little older.

      I hope you are able to join us for this week’s ‘pin’. I think it should be lots of fun!

      Like

      • Yes, I find that they have a really hard time working with it too. I usually end up kneading it for quite a while before I give it to them, which ends in sore hands for me, haha. The eldest is 9 and strong, so it’s super easy for him. The middle child usually just pokes away at it, lol. The Crayola is a fantastic starter clay!

        Like

  4. Real (oil based) clay cleans up in a jiffy with windex.

    I tried your owls out in Sunday School, yesterday, and it was a hit.:) We just had a few moments left before the bell, and I got this wild idea to show them your owl idea. 🙂 They’re only 7 and 8, but caught on really quickly. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

