How ‘Pinteresting’: The World is Flat

One ‘pin’ a week; that is the goal. Nothing too fancy, nothing too far-fetched; just a good opportunity to finally test out a few of those Pinterest ideas and see which ones really work! Join along and chime in; let us know which projects you’ve been working on and how they’ve turned out!

……

Summer_PinterestHere it is… the last ‘pin’ of the summer! Something that will tie our geography lessons in with our crafting and Pinterest boards. Three jobs in one!

When I was a child we were required to make these as part of our lessons on California History, along with a California mission. (I made my mission out of lasagna noodles, but that’s a story for another day.) I remember having to carefully reconstruct the state of California, making sure to get all the topographical details absolutely correct. Then, we had to paint it accordingly. What a project!

Let’s inflict the same pain fun on our own children. It’s actually pretty easy and you might already have the materials on hand!

Salt Map

Click on the image above to be taken to the original Pinterest link.

Here’s what you’ll need:

Clay (either homemade or store-bought)
Heavy Cardboard
Paints & Brushes

The project is fairly simple. On cardboard (or any other heavy-duty, disposable, flat surface), shape a mound of clay into your geographic location of choice. I would suggest modeling a current country you are learning about or your home state. If you’ve completed a lesson on world geography, perhaps you could allow your children to pick their country of choice. Once you have the location properly modeled to the best of your ability, allow it to dry for at least 24 hours. Once dry, paint your map accordingly.

See how easy that is?! The hard part is deciding what to do with all of these maps once they are complete… Hmmm… Either way, salt mapping is tons of fun and provides several valuable lessons in the learning process.

Enjoy!

Time to Chime In: What is your favorite at-home recipe for modeling clay? Please share!

12 thoughts on “How ‘Pinteresting’: The World is Flat

    • Good question! Yes; this is our last week of ‘summer fun learning’! Next week will be dedicated to finishing touches on the coming school year (printing needed materials, prepping paperwork, cleaning out summer work and making room for fall).

      We ‘officially’ start our learning year July 28th and will run until the second week in May. We choose this schedule because it allows us to finish long before our support group; enabling me to better help with end of the year events/ministry needs.

      Our routine this year will be thus: Our year will start the 28th of this month; running nine weeks. We will then take an entire week off to rest and enjoy the weather. We will resume and continue on until Thanksgiving; taking that entire week off. We will then do three weeks of learning, finishing up our quarter, and then take three weeks off for Christmas. We return in January, working through ’til Easter, taking a one week break, then will finish our year in May.

      I’m sure this is a longer answer than you were hoping for, but I hope this helps? I, too, enjoy hearing how others choose to organize their year/day. When will you start back to ‘school’ this fall?

      Like

      • That wasn’t too long, that was a wonderful answer, and very helpful. This will be our first year homeschooling, so I’m still trying to decide when to begin. I had thought maybe the fall, but my daughter asks every day if we are going to start. I think I’m mostly ready except getting a few supplies, but I’m also working on dropping her nap, so don’t want to stress her out with too much at once. I thought maybe we’d begin in August after the ‘Bring your own squirt gun’ party we are hosting.
        I was wondering if you have other advice on TV? It’s been a rule that she can’t watch tv til 9am since she started watching tv, but that’s the block that will work best for school time, as everyone will be fresh and fed, but I anticipate resistance in having her tv time pushed back til later. What are your thoughts, should I try to push it back or roll through til later? I anticipate the toddler being a problem if we wait til later.
        Thanks for the great stuff you post! Your’s is one of my favorite blogs!

        Like

      • I am humbled that you are liking what you find here. It is always encouraging to find people enjoy what they are reading.

        Definitely start your learning year when your family is ready. It might be this month, it might be next, and, then again, it might not be until September. That is just one of the many joys in homeschooling! I think waiting until your daughter’s routine is more established, in terms of naps, is a wise decision.

        As for television, I am probably not the best girl to ask on this issue. We don’t have television in our house. Well, we have a tv, but we don’t get reception. We only watch DVD’s on our box. So… I’m not sure I could help a whole lot. My man has decided that there is not enough good programming available to justify the price and, therefore, we have no reception. In terms of watching time for DVD’s, our children are not allowed to watch any tv during the week from Monday to Friday afternoon. On Friday evening, they are free to watch whatever we have available or have rented from the library. Saturdays we have a full morning, so they often don’t watch until Saturday afternoons at their grandparent’s house or back home with us. Sundays they usually spend a good portion of the afternoon either playing on devices or watching. I am not suggesting that everyone subscribe to this routine, but it works well for our family. (For more details, there is a post on the blog titled ‘What, No TV?”)

        If I may… what I would suggest is allowing them to watch just one show before 9am, perhaps during breakfast time. Then explain she needs to do a little learning before more television can be watched. If she does well with learning (no fussing or fighting), then reward her with a show once learning is done. If she struggles with obedience, then remove the privilege as an example of what will happen next time. If you would prefer to watch no television before 9; then, yes, I would suggest just rolling through until learning is done and let her know her reward for a compliant attitude is watching her shows once she is finished. While she might have trouble the first day or so, she’ll quickly adjust.

        If she is already looking forward to learning, I’m sure she will move into this transition smoothly. She definitely sounds ready to me!

        If you are looking for good school supplies, you might want to try Staples. I understand they are having a massive sale right now! Huge discounts!

        Hope some of this helps!

        Like

  1. Too funny! I had to make one of those topography maps as a kid as well…I think I did South America! Way to bring back the memories! 🙂

    And wow! I can’t imagine this being the last week of summer coming up…I just finished all the paperwork from this last school year.

    Because of vacation we are not starting back until after Labor Day but I planning now…so I guess it never really stops, just slows down a bit!

    Thanks for the mapmaking memories! 🙂

    Like

    • You mean I wasn’t the only one who had to do this. Hooray! (I mean, what a blessing! – lol)

      Yes; we started our summer early, mid-May, in order to be open in helping others finish their year through our PSP. So, it’s back to school for us. It will be fun though, so we really aren’t worried.

      You are correct; learning never stops around this place. It does slow down; on occasion. 🙂

      Like

    • I wish I could provide one and visit memory lane, myself. However, I lived before the age of digital photography! (lol) Therefore, there is no photographic evidence of said project due to the fact that our role of film was damaged being overheated in a garage. Ugh!

      Like

  2. Pingback: » How ‘Pinteresting’: The World is Flat | A Homeschool Mom

Leave a Reply

