Bacon, the Easy Way

In the KitchenWelcome to our kitchen. Here we’ll share our favorite recipes, lament over food failures, test out new gadgets, and discover tips to making kitchen life easier. Join us on this new adventure and share your life experience with the rest of us!

……

During the summer months, I would prefer to keep my cooking light and as simple as possible. We tend to eat more salad, less starches, and gorge on watermelons. The less heat and cleanup I have to do, the better.

One of our favorite sandwiches to make during the summer is a BLAT (bacon, lettuce, avocado, and tomato sandwich). Mommy tends to avoid these, however, due to the large mess this makes of her stove and the time it takes standing there cooking enough bacon for a family of six with decent appetites.

Just a few weeks ago, I decided I would go for it. What’s a little mess, right? Then a brilliant idea struck: cook the bacon in the oven! The lightbulb went off in my head, the Bacon, the Easy Wayconcept came together, and off I went. Not only was this the easiest way in the world to make bacon, it was clean and fast! I was able to cook two pounds of bacon in about fifteen minutes, all turning out flat and crispy.

For the rest of you bacon lovers and mommies looking to make their lives a little easier, we thought we’d use this week’s post to share our tips on how to make bacon, the easy way!

Tools
cookie sheets
parchment paper
bacon
oven (set to 400º)

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 400º. Set out two or three cookie sheets (depending on how much bacon you plan to cook). Cover each cookie sheet with a section of parchment paper. Unwrap you bacon and place onto the parchment paper. Place two cookie sheets into your preheated oven, on separate racks, and allow to cook for about ten minutes. At the ten minute mark, turn bacon over and rearrange your cookie sheets onto the opposite racks. (The sheet that was on top should now be on the bottom rack and visa-versa.) Cook your bacon for another five minutes (or until desired crispiness) and then remove. Drain bacon on paper towels and serve.

Notes:

I prefer to cut our bacon slices in half before placing it onto the cookie sheets. I’ve notice when cooking bacon with this method, it doesn’t shrink up as much as when cooking on the stove. Cutting the pieces helps the kids with portion control and makes the bacon stretch a little further. Plus, it fits better on a slice of bread!

Definitely use parchment paper, not wax paper or no paper at all. Using the parchment helps your bacon become crispy by absorbing a good portion of the fat drippings and helps keep your pans clean.

BLTWhile some have recommended rinsing bacon in cold water before cooking to help it lay flat, I have yet to experience this phenomena myself. I’ve tried rinsing several times when cooking on the stove, to no avail. If it works for you, go for it! I just choose to skip this extra step as it has never worked for me.

For those who prefer to avoid pork, this method also works well for turkey bacon. We have used both pork bacon and turkey in the past.

Now that I have discovered this fast, easy, and efficient way of cooking bacon in the oven, I may never go back to cooking it on the stove again! This cuts down my cooking time by more than half and helps keep my kitchen clean; both pluses in my book.

Speaking of which… I think lunch is just about ready!

Time to Chime In: Share with us your favorite recipe using bacon (turkey or pork)!

6 thoughts on “Bacon, the Easy Way

  1. I like to place a cooling rack on the cookie sheet, then place the bacon on the rack. The fat drips down below for extra crispy bacon. When I really don’t want to clean up bacon fat, I line the cookie sheets with foil. 🙂

    Like

  2. We are big breakfast sandwich people, and while I’ve been doing bacon in the oven for years I hadn’t tried my eggs in the oven until just last week. What an awesome trick, especially since I can never get the eggs to come out in “just the right shape.” Basically you place a cracked and scrambled egg (with just a touch of milk) into a greased muffin tin and bake at 350 for about 20 minutes. I will admit I was a bit put off by the shape (they come out looking a bit like mini quiches) until I realized that you can place em into your sandwich and flatten them into shape and nones the wiser 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

