Sopita!

In the KitchenWelcome to our kitchen. Here we’ll share our favorite recipes, lament over food failures, test out new gadgets, and discover tips to making kitchen life easier. Join us on this new adventure and share your life experience with the rest of us!

……

Before I got married, I did not know how to cook. I couldn’t have told you how to boil water. I knew how to make one thing and one thing alone, my mother’s enchiladas. Other than pouring the occasional bowl of cereal, I was not one to spend time in the kitchen.

Once I became married, and definitely after having kids, my hubby gently asked if I would consider asking his mother to teach me. She was home all day, she would love to spend time with our daughter, and I could learn how to handle the basics. It proved to be one of the best decisions we ever made. My mother-in-law and I grew very close and I learned how to make quite a few meals.

While there are many recipes I now make on a regular basis, there are a few my kids request most often. One of their favorites is sopita, also called fidelos.

Sopita

Ingredients:

Fidelos Noodles (2 packages)
Onion (minced)
Garlic (minced)
Marjoram
Oregano
Stewed Canned Tomato (small)
Olive Oil
Carrots (2 chopped finely)
Cilantro (chopped)
6 cups water
Better Than Bullion (Chicken, 2 tsp.)
Goya Con Azafran (1 packet, optional)

Directions:

Add 2 tbsp. of Olive Oil to a large stew pot. Once the oil is warm, add the carrots and Sopitaonion; cook these until slightly tender. Add in the garlic, marjoram, and oregano; cook until garlic is translucent. (Adding the herbs at this stage will allow them to begin releasing their flavor and give depth to your meal.) Add in the fidelos, cooking until lightly browned. Add the tomatoes; stir into mixture. Pour in six cups of water. Add the Better Than Bullion and Goya into the pot. Add a handful of chopped cilantro. Cook at medium low heat for approximately fifteen minutes or until fidelos are tender. Serve the sopita with fresh, warm, flour tortillas.

Now that our girls are getting older, they too are learning to make sopita. This simple dish is incredibly easy to make and goes a long way. It’s perfect for a quick lunchtime meal and comforting on a cool fall evening. Served with fresh tortillas, you can’t go wrong!

Time to Chime In: Do you cook with fidelos? Share your favorite recipe!

13 thoughts on “Sopita!

  1. Oh I was surprised to see that someone else uses fideo noodles. My mom taught me how to make what she calls “sopa”. Which means dry soup. She also uses rice. But it is so simple. This is how I throw it together:
    1 Tbsp vegetable oil
    Fideo pkg
    1/2 cup chopped onion
    2 – 8 oz cans of tomato sauce
    4 cups water
    1 Tbsp chicken bouillon
    1 tsp salt (or to taste)
    1/2 tsp cumin
    pepper to taste

    In a large pot add the vegetable oil to coat the bottom of the pot. Heat the oil to medium high so that you can brown the onions and fideo. Add onion and brown for a couple of minutes then add the fideo. Brown the fideo. Stir occasionally to brown all sides. This doesn’t take long but maybe a 4 to 5 minutes. Once the fideo has browned add the tomato sauce and the water. When it gets to a simmer add the dry ingredients and stir in. Let simmer for 20 minutes. You can add more seasonings to taste but this is how I throw this together.

    Like

  2. Well interesting I have never prepared it the way you do but sounds delicious although a few of those things I would have no clue where to find (marjoram, Goya con azafran) but I make mine the same as the 1st comment so once I find those few things I’m going to try yours out. Thanks for sharing

    Like

Leave a Reply

