I Pledge Allegiance…

“I pledge allegiance to the Flag of the United States of America, and to the Republic for which it stands, one Nation under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all.”

American-FlagWhen setting up our children’s learning routine, there were several areas of study on our list which we felt could not be overlooked. We carefully planned each course, knew the direction we wanted to move in, and proceeded with an open mind. It wasn’t until we joined a formal learning group for activities and socializing that it became obvious we had entirely skipped one particular point of learning. Our kids did not know the Pledge of Allegiance. 
It’s funny how little things like that seemed to have skipped my mind entirely. While I am sure we said The Pledge in our younger years of education, I cannot for the life of me remember ever saying The Pledge in high school! (This is not to say we didn’t, but that I certainly do not recall having done so.)
Therefore, when I went about setting up our own learning routine, saying The Pledge each morning did not even occur to me; not once. 
It took several weeks of attending co-op for our kids to finally get it down, but eventually we got it. In addition to the American Flag salute, we also learned the Christian Flag salute. By now, they have become second nature and the kids could say them front, back, and probably put them to song. (laughing)
What’s interesting is that while we’ve learned this for group events, we still do not say The Pledge each morning. Frankly, it just doesn’t occur to me. It’s not that I am opposed to saying it. I suppose I’ve just never found it necessary. Don’t think me unpatriotic. I love being American; I love living in the United States. I believe it should to be said for public events and before particular celebrations. I just don’t know if this is something which my family needs to have as the starting point of their day.
Am I the odd man out? 
Time to Chime In: Do you say The Pledge each day? Share with us why you do this and what importance you believe it plays in your home.
13 thoughts on “I Pledge Allegiance…

    • I would love to hear their thoughts!

      I suppose I am wondering if saying the words makes you patriotic or if we are saying them as rote, not really paying attention to our words.

      After all, how many people say The Pledge each and every morning without bothering to even understand, believe, or care about the words being spoken? They are saying them because they are programmed to say them.

      I don’t think NOT saying the words makes you unpatriotic (unless you are refusing to say them, that is another thing entirely) and I don’t think saying them MAKES you patriotic. What matters is the attitude of the heart! It’s like love; you may never say the words, but your actions say it all.

      Like

      • I’m not thinking so much about patriotism as I am about being grateful for what we have here in America and remembering it daily. Our freedoms are fragile. America is one – of – a – kind in human history. It is a gift and a stewardship to be passed on to our children. God bless.

        Like

      • I understand your argument, but does saying The Pledge make you more grateful? Again, most people are saying this mindlessly and then proceeding with their day; it don’t find them any more thankful than we are, probably less.

        I too believe that American traditions, customs, and values need to be passed down to our children. I’m surprised this is one area I didn’t think to teach our kids, frankly. (We certainly covered everything else!) However, I wouldn’t say that someone who doesn’t teach this is ungrateful. We show our thanks in many different ways, this is merely one.

        It all comes down to a matter of the heart. You can be grateful without saying The Pledge daily and you can say it daily without being thankful.

        Being an American is truly a blessing. A good reminder for all of us…

        Like

  1. Intersting topic! We don’t say it, ever. Isn’t taking a pledge the same as taking an oath? Which the Bible says not to do.

    Like

    • I don’t think this is the same circumstance. That verse refers to making thoughtless oaths; oaths with no meaning. Here is a note from a commentary which might help:

      “5:33-37 There is no reason to consider that solemn oaths in a court of justice, or on other proper occasions, are wrong, provided they are taken with due reverence. But all oaths taken without necessity, or in common conversation, must be sinful, as well as all those expressions which are appeals to God, though persons think thereby to evade the guilt of swearing. The worse men are, the less they are bound by oaths; the better they are, the less there is need for them. Our Lord does not enjoin the precise terms wherein we are to affirm or deny, but such a constant regard to truth as would render oaths unnecessary.”

      Hope this helps! 🙂

      Like

    • The Biblical warning against oaths has more to do with using oaths as a way to manipulate others into believing us. If people told the truth, there would be no need for oaths because their “yes” would mean yes and their “no” would mean no, so that one would simply state his intentions without the need to add some assurance to others that he is not attempting to deceive them. That was Jesus’ point. Jesus is telling us that we are to simply speak the truth all the time, and then their would be no need to add legitimacy to our words by swearing any oath.

      As for our allegiances, we do have obligations to others as prescribed in scripture. We have certain duties and owe certain loyalties to our spouses, our families, and the civil authorities. Just like my duty is to see to the well-being of my children before I help some stranger’s children, I have a duty to my country before other countries. I’m not suggesting we cannot help someone else’s children or another country, but only noting that there’s nothing unbiblical about placing one’s loyalties in some sequence of priority.

      And so pledging one’s allegiance to one’s country is simply a ceremonial acknowledgement of one’s loyalty as a citizen. It is not an act of worship, nor an attempt to manipulate anyone, nor even an entrance into a legal contract. This is, perhaps, why some people (whether politicians who subscribe to globalism or whether illegals who come here to reap benefits but remain loyal to their country of origin) may be seen showing little respect for the flag (as it represents this country).

      Like

  2. I haven’t yet. I’ve thought about it but just haven’t decided. I’m guessing at some point in the next year or two I’ll teach it to him but doubt I’ll make it a daily thing. Hmmm….needs some pondering though. I’d love to hear what others think.

    Like

  3. We don’t say it every day. I just taught it to my five year old under the categories of social studies and speech. We only said it every day for her to learn it and then to say it in front of “our class”. I also think its something every American should learn, but I don’t see the need for us to say it every day in our homeschool. My daughter enjoys singing so I even introduced her to My Country Tis of Thee, which we always sang after the Pledge in my private elementary school.

    Like

  4. We don’t say it, but I will teach it to them. I don’t consider it a necessary part of being patriotic, though. Certainly it’s less important than being familiar with the history of our nation.

    Like

  5. We say it everyday, but we are also a military family so I want them to know it just in case they’re ever required to say it at an event. I also believe that it’s important as U.S. citizens to know and understand what it means. It’s also important for them to realize what price has been paid for that freedom. A pledge is a promise. The Pledge of Allegiance is a promise to honor the ideals our country was founded upon. I was pretty impressed when my four and five year-old started reciting it from memory after only a week of saying it.

    We take the same approach with it as we do The Lord’s Prayer. Periodically, I make them slow down and we go over what each phrase (word) means.

    Like

Leave a Reply

