Sugar Coat It

In the KitchenWelcome to our kitchen. Here we’ll share our favorite recipes, lament over food failures, test out new gadgets, and discover tips to making kitchen life easier. Join us on this new adventure and share your life experience with the rest of us!

……

For all my hundred and twenty pounds, you’d think I starve myself. I don’t really. I just don’t each much, but when I do… look out! It’s all sugar-coated!

I like sweets. I like them a lot. I don’t care if it’s got caramel, chocolate, dipped in candy coating, or whatever else you can come up with, I’ll probably give it a whirl. My biggest weakness is good frosting. In fact, a friend of mine and I have often commented that we could probably skip the cake altogether. Just hand me a box of graham crackers and a fresh batch of frosting and I’m good.

It’s taken me years to finally brave this daunting task, but I’ve finally managed to learn how to make my own frosting; several different varieties actually. For some reason this always seemed so intimidating.

During the coming month (okay, let’s be honest; the coming year), I plan to do a lot of baking. There will be cookies of all kinds, cakes, scones, and probably a few mandolins. If I’m especially brave, I might even try macarons (not too be confused with macaroons). What do each of these recipes have in common? Frosting and lots of it!

Frosting

Just for the fun of it, we thought we’d share two of our favorite frosting recipes with you all in hopes of you sharing back! The first recipe is a glaze, useful in both cookie making and for drizzling over cakes and scones. The second is a traditional frosting, using creamed cheese, which cuts down on the overly sugared taste often associated with frosting. Enjoy!

Frosting Glaze

Ingredients:
powdered sugar
milk
almond extract
food coloring of choice

Directions:
Using a small bowl, pour in one cup powdered sugar. Add 1/2 tsp. almond extract. Slowly add small doses of milk to the sugar mixture, working the milk into the bowl until the glaze is smooth and sugar is fully incorporated. Once glaze is to the desired consistency, add several drops of desired coloring and fully incorporate.

Traditional Frosting

Ingredients:
16oz cream cheese, room temperature
1 1/2 cup powdered sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup heavy cream, cold

Directions:
Beat the cheese, sugar and vanilla until smooth and fluffy. In a separate bowl, beat the heavy cream to nearly stiff peaks, then add the whipped cream into the cheese mixture; quickly and briefly beat to combine. Do not over beat. (Note: This recipe was taken from Not So Humble Pie. We love her version of this classic frosting.)

We plan to use both of these recipes to the fullest during the coming month. With all our holiday baking, I might as well make gallons of both and save myself time. (laughing) Sugar  never goes to waste in this house!

Time to Chime In: We’ve shown you ours, now you show us yours! What frosting recipe have we just got to try?

3 thoughts on “Sugar Coat It

  1. Pingback: The Mediator | A Homeschool Mom

  2. Last week I made frosting for the first time. I found a simple recipe online. 3 cups heavy whipping cream, 1/2 cup sugar and a tablespoon of vanilla. It turned out wonderful! I piped it onto cupcakes using a plastic bag with the tip cut off. The frosting was nice and light.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

