Egg Nog

In the KitchenWelcome to our kitchen. Here we’ll share our favorite recipes, lament over food failures, test out new gadgets, and discover tips to making kitchen life easier. Join us on this new adventure and share your life experience with the rest of us!

……

One of the treats my family likes to enjoy this time of year is eggnog. Truthfully, I’m not a huge fan (I don’t care much for eggs), but I like to please my people and it’s just another way I can show my love.

Up ’til now I’ve always purchased out eggnog. Southern Comfort makes a wonderful variety which are rich in flavor and this is what I try to buy. This year, however, we are going to branch out and make our own!

A family friend who makes this every year shared this recipe with us and we can’t wait to share it with you…

Eggnog 

Ingredients:
6 egg yolks
1/2 cup water
1 cup sugar
1 can condensed milk
1 cup rum (optional)
1 tbsp. vanilla extract

Directions:
Boil the water and sugar until sugar is fully incorporated. Let cool. Mix in yolks; strain your mixture to remove any residue from the eggs. Add condensed milk, rum, and vanilla. Mix, chill and serve.

Who knew making eggnog could be this simple? As mentioned above, feel free to leave out the rum if you don’t care for alcohol. Personally, I do not add this ingredient as I have little people in my house who cannot indulge and we don’t do much drinking. Even without the rum this recipe tastes great! For added flavor, consider including just a touch of nutmeg to your eggnog or even cinnamon.

Time to Chime In: Do you find the use of alcohol in other people’s cooking offensive?

8 thoughts on “Egg Nog

  1. I don’t mind alcohol in some foods, but like you, eggnog is better without the rum. It makes me full without it! But some things, like rum cake, or a whiskey sauce on a steamed pudding just make things… better. I’m not much of a drinker myself, but I do think some alcohols do add a particular flavor that can’t be imparted with just an extract.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Hi
    I saw you liked one of my posts and came to see what your blog was all about! My son and I are huge egg nog fans (not hubby though). We were going to make our own this year but I had jury duty the whole week before Christmas and didn’t get around to it . But who says it has to be Christmas? Can’t wait to try your recipe!
    I am not offended by people using alcohol in recipes but I’ve never used it in egg nog. I HAVE tasted it and didn’t care for it.
    Can’t wait to read more of your posts!
    Carmen

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

