Madeleine

In the KitchenWelcome to our kitchen. Here we’ll share our favorite recipes, lament over food failures, test out new gadgets, and discover tips to making kitchen life easier. Join us on this new adventure and share your life experience with the rest of us!

……

I confess; I’m a chicken. For some long months I have been hiding two baking pans in my cupboard, afraid to look at them or try them out. Afraid that I wouldn’t be able to create the ‘perfect’ dish which I had envisioned in my head. These pans taunted me, reminding me of my fear.

I’m happy to announce I finally decided enough is enough. I walked right into my kitchen, pulled those pans out of my cupboard, mixed up a batch of cookies, and was pleasantly surprised… they were not only easy to make, they tasted great!

Madeleines

Ingredients:
2 large eggs
1/2 cup sugar
1 tsp. vanilla
1/8 tsp. salt
1 cup flour (cake flour might be preferred)
10 tbsp. butter, slightly melted

Beat eggs and sugar for approximately two minutes. Add vanilla, salt, and butter; mix until smooth. Slowly fold in flour, fully incorporating into mixture. Spoon 1 tbsp. of batter into each mold. Bake in oven for 8 minutes at 375 degrees. Allow cookies to cool for 5 minutes before removing from pans. Sprinkle the cookies with a little powdered sugar or dip them in chocolate for added flair.

Madeleines

It seems these little cookies are quite popular; they didn’t last two days in our house and I made a double batch! It looks like I’m going to be heading back into the kitchen real soon. Maybe this time I’ll experiment with making a few additional flavors like chocolate or jasmine. Yummy!

Time to Chime In: Is there anything you’ve been afraid to tackle in the kitchen?

11 thoughts on “Madeleine

  1. Oh my goodness, you evil woman, you! I didn’t know there was such a thing as Madeline pans. Now I know that I can make these golden bits of deliciousness in my very own oven. I will hold you personally responsible for the 50+ pounds I may very well gain after I get my hands on these!! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • (laughing) Tell me about it! It’s probably a good thing my kids helped me down the double batch I made this week or I would have eaten them all myself! I almost made a second batch yesterday, but talked myself out of it. Restraint… restraint!

      Like

Leave a Reply

