I Know It’s Important, But…

In the KitchenWelcome to our kitchen. Here we’ll share our favorite recipes, lament over food failures, test out new gadgets, and discover tips to making kitchen life easier. Join us on this new adventure and share your life experience with the rest of us!

……

They tell us breakfast is the most important meal of the day. I suppose this must be true. Your body has been sleeping for the last six or more hours, it needs a little sustenance to get it moving. While all this sounds good in my head, try getting my stomach to receive the message. Breakfast is my least favorite meal of the day; I just never seem to be hungry!

For some reason, however, my kids actually enjoy breakfast. Can you imagine? My kids have the nerve to wake up each morning and want to eat, the little animals. (Laughing friends, really.) While I like to push myself (unhealthily, I might add) to go without breakfast, I understand my littles definitely need a good start to the day; especially if we plan to get any learning done!

Because I don’t like to wake up at the crack of dawn and cook each morning and my husband believes our kiddos are more than old enough to start learning to get their own breakfast (thank you!), I’ve implemented a few breakfast ideas which work perfectly into our routine.

Recipe Book

Each Sunday morning I dig out our waffle iron and our pancake griddle, cooking up a big batch of each. We have our fill and the rest go into the freezer. During the week, the kiddos start their morning routines by helping themselves in the kitchen. They are free to warm up pancakes and waffles, fry themselves eggs, or grab a bowl of cereal. On occasion, especially during the winter, I will also have a cake plate overflowing with muffins for them to choose from.

Lately, I’ve been experimenting with various pancake and muffin recipes. I like to change things up as often as possible. It keeps things from getting too boring and tempts my stomach to actually put something inside. Some we look forward to are:

Pancakes
Carrot Cake
Oladi
Sour Cream Blueberry

Muffins
Orange-Walnut Oatmeal Muffins
Blueberry Oatmeal
French Toast Breakfast Muffins

Unfortunately, a lot of breakfast seems to be carbs. Perhaps this is to jumpstart our system with a boost of energy? To balance this out, I should also start looking into recipes for egg soufflé and parfait. Don’t those sound delicious? Well… at least in my mind they do. Now, to just convince my stomach that we’re supposed to be eating breakfast. (sigh)

Time to Chime In: Besides the options listed above, what great, fast, fun ideas do you have for breakfast?

20 thoughts on “I Know It’s Important, But…

  1. I too have had trouble eating breakfast in the morning and had to find a way to enjoy eating breakfast instead of feeling like I was forcing myself. I love sandwiches so I make myself an egg over medium with pepperjack cheese, sliced tomatoes and lettuce on Italian or rye bread, and prepare it like a grilled cheese sandwich, it’s so yummy! I recently started making myself frittatas with leftover vegetables in the morning; apparagus, peppers, oninon, mushroom & broccoli are some that I make often…. for me, savory food is more appealing in the morning and I prefer to have a bowl of cereal in the evening or as a snack.
    Great post, glad to know I’m not the only one 😉 ~ Blessings, Danielle

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve done breakfast sandwiches with egg, ham, and cheese; I think I’ll have to try your version though.
      You make a valid point! I wonder if my issue is that breakfast always seems so sugary, and, even though I like sugar, that is not what my body is craving in the morning. Perhaps I need to attempt a more savory start to the day.
      Thanks for the helpful suggestions and for taking the time to share! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. We kept a no-breakfast kid in our home for half a year. We told him he had to eat something and we did not care what, as long as it was food. We told him, when we were shopping, to pick a week’s worth of food he could guarantee he would eat in the morning. He tested us and picked extremely out-of-season kiwi fruit (translate $3.50 per lb.) and he was shocked when I exclaimed, “Fruit! A marvelous idea!” So he ate a kiwi for breakfast every day for a whole week. For the next week, he chose apples. I did not care. It was a matter of principle, more than anything. He did love when I splurged on bacon and pancakes. 😉 But when he asked if smoothies would count, and if I could make them, we hit our groove. I made him a strawberry or blueberry smoothie, using almond milk and a protein stir-in, every morning. Every. Morning.
    I almost always have eggs for breakfast, myself. I love an omelet with onion and jalapeno. Also can go for a more Italian version with mushroom, garlic, and Parmesan cheese. But my favorite omelet is high in cream content and has stevia and blueberries added, and sometimes browned pecans. Mmm!
    I have a lot of breakfast menus over at my place, listed on the “kitchen” tab, if you’re interested…

    Liked by 1 person

    • But see the problem with smoothies is that I then have to DRINK something as well. (lol) I really am bad, aren’t I? Okay… no more excuses, I just need to force myself into the kitchen and make myself swallow something.

      Although, I never thought of having an omelet with fruit! Is it more like a crepe or do you make a regular omelet and just use fruit? Hmm…

      Thanks for directing us (and our readers) to your ‘kitchen’ tab; we’ll be heading over to grab some great breakfast ideas!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Actually, it started out to be zabaglionne, but I wanted to use frozen fruit, which would instantly cool the egg and thaw the fruit in one deal. However, I got to thinking the egg would not actually be done, that way, and started cooking the fruit in with the egg and cream. I sweeten it with stevia, cinnamon, and vanilla. Sometimes I add cocoa powder. The cream content is high, so it is still creamy when done. I know that sounds like bad dietary practice, but really, it is very few carbohydrates and lots of protein and the fruit is primo. Then only problem is that blueberries make it look very dark and unappetizing. If you’re persuaded by pretty, this isn’t it.
        Anyway, it turns out more like scrambled eggs with lots of great stuff in it, sort of like a bowl of chocolate/cinnamon oatmeal with blueberries in it. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve *never* liked breakfast. So, naturally, I have two children who can’t function without breakfast. Fortunately (?) for all of us, this pregnancy has me unable to function without breakfast, either. We’re having lots of egg, bacon, (or sausage) and cheese sandwiches.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m like you…I usually skip breakfast. Grace, on the other hand, eats breakfast every day. She goes through phases with oatmeal, cereal, waffles, and sandwiches. I know sandwiches may be strange for breakfast, but I don’t complain about food I don’t have to fix. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  5. When I read ‘It Starts With Food’ they explained the food habits most of us have that inhibit our natural instincts to eat in the morning. Something that saves me time some mornings is making a double or triple batch baked egg dish of some sort. I fill up 2 smaller casserole dishes so that I have enough to just reheat on another morning or two. It also helps to set some ingredients out the night before, already measured or have veggies for omelets already diced.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m not a fan of breakfast either. Most days I make myself a smoothie. It’s a great way to use up leftover fruits and veggies. You can health it up by adding turmeric and ginger. Or you can do it the simplistic way, which is my favorite right now. One scoop pea protein powder, two squirts stevia, a cup of ice and two cups of water. No thinking involved, just press “go!”

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m not generally ready to eat for two hours after I get up. Neither is my son. Unless we have to go somewhere and won’t have an opportunity to eat at our bodies’ preferred time, I don’t force it. We’re both healthy. Give yourself a break.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I’m an egg lover. This year I have discovered a timeless classic, the “egg-toast”, we all call it. I make a hole in the bread , butter or oil it lightly then toss it on the skillet. Then…fun…I crack an egg and drop it in the whole smack dab in the middle of the “toast”. I can make a whole plate of these and everybody gets their good egg for the morning.
    Come visit us along the shore of Lake Michigan sometime and I’ll throw one on for you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • How sweet of you to invite us! I’ve actually made this for my kiddos and, on occasion, they’ll eat it. For whatever reason, we just aren’t big on eggs. It’s been a while though; thanks for the reminder. I’ll have to make it again soon. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

