Open to Change

stick-in-the-mudI think I must be a stick in the mud. Once I have set myself down, getting me to move can be a little difficult. It’s not that I dislike change, but once I have my mind set in a particular direction, it can be challenging to redirect myself. One lesson I’m learning over the years is that I need to be open to change.

Change can be a beautiful thing, it really can; it offers new perspective, fun opportunities, and teaches many lessons. However, for someone who tends to be OCD, change cannot only be a little scary, but full of tension.

The hardest area of change for me… last-minute, day-to-day changes. It’s hard enough getting a stick in the mud to move slowly toward a new goal, but ask that stick to immediately shift into a new position and you are going to hear squeals of protest. (laughing) What helps me make those necessary, last-minute changes? Well, I…

Breathe – I try not to react, but simply take a deep breath. This helps me flush out the emotions willing to rush to the forefront of my mind, and allows me a moment to gain perspective of the situation.

Pray – If I can remember – I admit I don’t always do this when I should – I ask the Lord to help me through the situation. He knows what is best for my family and what I need to handle this in the best manner.

Listen – I cannot make a sound decision if I haven’t taken the time to listen fully to what’s needed.

Determine What’s Important – At that given moment, what is most important? Is it keeping to my schedule, dealing with my child’s character, running that errand for my husband, taking a last-minute field trip, or even having a necessary nap? What needs to take precedent; what can’t wait?

Reevaluate – Once my emotions are under control and I have fully understood what is happening, I do my best to evaluate the circumstances and decide the best way in which to tackle this new angle of life. Evaluating a curve ball can be tough sometimes!

Move Forward – Knowing what to do and doing it are two different things. Once I have my answer, I need to move forward with confidence, knowing God will provide.

With practice and patience, this stick in the mud is learning to be flexible. It isn’t always easy, but it is necessary. After all, either I can bend or I can break. Personally, I’d rather bend; wouldn’t you?

Time to Chime In: Do you ever wish you could just stamp your feet and growl like a bear to help rid yourself of tension? (laughing) What is the silliest thing you’ve ever done to help relieve stress?

12 thoughts on “Open to Change

  1. Love your list. I need to remember your point of “Determine What’s Important” more often! Going outside for a walk has relieved many a stress for me!
    ~Lee

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This post was just what I needed to read today! Not only am I a boring old stick in the mud but I have anxiety issues too, especially regarding last minute changes. I try and use calming techniques these days to at least give myself a second to think – when that fails, I close the bedroom door and allow myself a full minute for a temper tantrum. It works!
    Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • We’re so pleased you were blessed by what you read today.

      Sometimes we all need a quick moment to vent, allowing our bodies to de-stress before tackling the current curve ball life has thrown. I think they key is in knowing you need it and taking that moment in private, instead of venting publicly. Pillows make great silencers! (lol)

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Helping Our Children Manage Change | A Homeschool Mom

Leave a Reply

