10 Great Resources for Budding Authors

“Reading and writing, like everything else, improve with practice. And, of course, if there are no young readers and writers, there will shortly be no older ones. Literacy will be dead, and democracy – which many believe goes hand in hand with it – will be dead as well.”

– Margaret Atwood

10_Great_Resources_for_Budding_AuthorsAre some people born with a gift for words; able to take even the most mundane of tasks and re-form them into magical adventures? Perhaps some have a more innate ability to weave a tale, but there is still hope for the rest of us! With a few good resources, even the most inexperienced writer may soon become a budding author.

If you have children interested in becoming authors, or perhaps have children you would like to be enthusiastic about writing, here are a few resources your family might find helpful to the writing process. You’ll find a great mix of everything; websites, books, and more!

10 Great Resources for Budding Authors

1. Writing Your Way, Don Fry
2. What’s Your Story, Marion Dane Bauer
3. On Writing Well, William Zinsser
4. The Writer’s Way, Jack Ralins and Stephen Metzger
5. Dramatica Pro Application
6. One Year Adventure Novel
7. Young Writers Online
8. Eight Writing Contests for Kids
9. Cash Contests for Kids
10. HSLDA

Nab, bookmark, and peruse a few of the resources above and explore the art of writing. Stock up on paper, pencils, erasers, and/or a computer. Sit yourself down and have some fun. Writing doesn’t have to be hard; just take one word at a time!

“Thus says the LORD, the God of Israel, ‘Write all the words which I have spoken to you in a book.” – Jeremiah 30:2

🔔 Time to Chime In: Calling all authors!! Share your story with our homeschooling audience. What led you to becoming an author, what have you learned along the way; and what are you currently working on;

19 thoughts on “10 Great Resources for Budding Authors

  1. I became an author after reading so much as a kid. I started first with poetry (encouragement from my 5th grade teacher) and have moved on to short stories and blogging 🙂

    My daughter is the writer between the 2 of my kids. She’s still trying to find her footing. I try to help as much as possible (try to keep it fun) without pressuring her too much.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. I would add Cover Story to your list. It is from the same company as One Year Adventure Novel. Another writing curriculum we enjoy is called Brave Writer. This curriculum has really helped me to discuss literary elements, techniques and styles with my crew and expose them (and me too) to great great books.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Thank you for this post! I will be saving it in my inbox until I get time to check out all the links!

    I think my love of writing came from reading great children’s literature (when I was a kid, that was Little House and Anne of Green Gables). I loved reading and I loved writing. I created little newsletters and storybooks. My mom really encouraged me to be creative and write. Today, homeschooling four kids, I try to always encourage them in their writing. Currently, my oldest is working on the novel writing track for 5th grade featured on the Easy Peasy website (www.allinonehomeschool.com). We are really enjoying it!

    My current projects are a devotional for moms and a YA book on extreme situations and the power of prayer. I also blog periodically at http://wheregracefoundme.wordpress.com and http://thefamilyworshipchronicles.wordpress.com .

    Grace to you,
    Nicki

    Liked by 2 people

  4. My biggest lesson has absolutely been that without goals and timelines, I don’t stand a chance of publishing anything. After a long career in freelance journalism (while homeschooling), I finally published a couple little books about homeschooling. It came about because I had accountability partners who checked up on my calendar and my progress. Nothing like deadlines to keep you from time-wasting distractions!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

