Let Not Your Heart Be Troubled

“Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid.”

– John 14:27

Let_Not_Your_HeartI am a worrier. Lord forgive me – literally – but this is true. If our routine’s off by just a smidgen, I start to sweat. Mass amounts of responsibility sit on my shoulders and I start to wonder if I can handle it all. Kids are getting out of hand, acting out, and I start wondering if I’m failing as a parent. My choices in curriculum and social activities begin to weigh on my mind. These are just the small worries.

If work is slow, paying bills is going to be tight, because we are self-employed. My kids need braces, all four of them. New laws in our state might force regulations upon us that usurp our parental authority. The list could go on.

It is in my nature to worry about everything and anything. I worry about having dinner finished at a good hour; using too much laundry soap; stretching our budget; whether or not I should have said those words to that person; and if I am ‘enough’ for the people who depend on me. I worry; I worry; I worry. This is who I am… on my own.

Ah! But that changes everything doesn’t it? What I am on my own cannot compare to what I am in Christ. In Christ, I am a new creation. (II Cor. 5:17)

My old nature is constantly battling with who Christ is trying to help me become. I can easily slip back into a pattern of old habits, allowing myself to be overwhelmed by life, forgetting Who is in control. My emotions war with the Holy Spirit who is trying to comfort me, offering me peace during times of trial.

Overwhelmed by Emotion

If gone unchecked, emotions can sometimes overwhelm; clouding our minds and paralyzing us. We cannot see the truth for the feelings standing in the way. We have allowed reason to fall by the wayside and allowed our hearts to dictate our current state of mind.

And yet, we are reminded in Jeremiah 17:9 that our hearts are deceitful above all things and desperately wicked. We are not to be ruled by our emotions or the turning of our hearts. What we feel is not to be our focus, but, rather, what is true.

What Is True?

The truth, as we are reminded in John 14, is that we have been given a spirit of peace. Not just any peace, peace given by God Himself! We have the God-given ability to accept this peace and move forward, but we have to choose to do so. God will not force His peace upon us. He will not shove this peace down our throats. He will not beg us to take it. We must choose to accept His gift willingly.

Let Not Your Heart…

Our emotions are not going to gain control of themselves. We need to be proactive about not letting our emotions control us. We need to rely on the Lord and ask Him to remove this stress and fill us with His peace. We need to trust He is going to see us through.

This does not mean He will always meet our needs in the way we expect; sometimes He doesn’t! Christians die, go hungry, and are persecuted – we are told to expect this (John 15:20) – instead we ask that He see us through the trial and come out of this stronger. We accept that God is in control.

On my own, I am a worrier. In Christ, I am learning to have peace; peace which surpasses all understanding (Phil. 4:7). My friends, let not your heart be troubled. Instead, accept the gift our Lord has freely given. Peace which fills our empty hearts, calms our sea of emotions, and confounds the unbeliever. May we choose to accept the gifts Christ so willingly died to give us and enter into a life well lived.

🔔Time to Chime In: When worried, I find it helps to pray and reorient my focus. What helps you when emotions seem to hold sway?

14 thoughts on “Let Not Your Heart Be Troubled

  1. I remind myself, “God did not give us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind.” As another homeschool Mom, I hear you! Wow, do I ever hear you! I can not tell you what a blessing your post was for me today especially. I suddenly feel less alone. Thank you so much and have a blessed day. Deep breathes sweet girl, this too shall pass…. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. To focus on what is true, not the narrative that I assume will happen as a result of something. Having said that, today is a 13 year anniversary for me. When I miscarried my second. This was the day I learned I didn’t have to fear suffering…that God would give me freedom if I didn’t run away from things that scared me. Huh, ironic. Or not?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I remember someone wording it this way: “You love your child. You feed your child breakfast each morning. One day, you notice your child putting some of his breakfast in his pockets. When you ask him why, he explains he’s worried you won’t keep providing for him and he wants to hold onto some of the food to sustain him later.”

      WOW! But, the sad truth is, we DO that; don’t we? Why are we holding on to things assuming God won’t take care of us tomorrow? We hold on to the worry, the guilt, and the fear, thinking we need to take care of it ourselves instead of trusting in Christ to meet our needs not only today, but tomorrow, and all the days to come.

      Like

  3. Worry seems to be my middle name. And that is where I need to stop….. I seek to understand how God sees me and what He says about me. He loves me and you so much that He will watch over us and care for us. I also turn on Christian music that gets my mind off of fearful worries. I struggle with anxiousness. I’m learning that prayer really helps. As I grow in relationship with God, it is getting easier to trust Him with the things that are on my mind troubling me. I love your post. Thank You!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: I Can Do This! | A Homeschool Mom

Leave a Reply

