Am I Really THAT Important?

Strange, isn’t it? Each man’s life touches so many other lives. When he isn’t around he leaves an awful hole, doesn’t he?

Clarence, ‘It’s a Wonderful Life’

Am_I_Really_That_ImportantI don’t know of anyone whose had the pleasure of having a ‘George Bailey’ moment. Do you? You know the one I mean. A fateful night when an angel comes down to earth and shows you exactly what life would be like if you had never been born. Like George, maybe every once in a while, we could all use a reminder of just how important a role we play.

I am important. You are important. What lofty positions do we hold which allow me to write these words; senator, president, prime minister, or king? Nope; we are even more important than all these.

First, assuming you are a Christian, you are a child of the One True God; a child of the King. How could you not be important, especially to Him? He created you; you were not an accident. He came to earth for you, lived as an example for you, died for you, rose again for you, and is coming again for you. Yeah… you are definitely something special.

Second, He has a plan for you. If you are following His path for your life, you are fulfilling a purpose. No matter where God called you to serve and minister, you are doing God’s work. Take joy and comfort in that.

Not everyone is going to be a super star, much less hold a government office. That doesn’t mean the role you fulfill has any less meaning or importance! Being a Christian holds so much for those who follow God’s call in their lives. Being married gives a living example of Christ’s love for the church. Parents are imparting wisdom to the next generation. Those working outside the home have the ability to minister in an even wider arena.

While you might not see the benefits of your hard work now, take heart. If you are walking according to God’s purposes, you are making an impact for His kingdom.

Now that I think about it, maybe you are an ambassador after all… an ambassador for Christ, reaching out to the lost and sharing hope to those who are willing to hear. A pretty important job; don’t you think?

“Therefore, we are ambassadors for Christ, as though God were making an appeal through us; we beg you on behalf of Christ, be reconciled to God.”
II Cor. 5:20

Time to Chime In: For those of you who are Christian, share a Bible verse which encourages you in your calling. For those who aren’t Christian, and might have some questions for us, we’d love to hear from you, too!

We’d love to see a picture of where God has called you to serve! Instagram your homeschool inspired pictures with the hashtag #A_HomeschoolMom & you might find your picture featured on AHM’s Instagram!

Want to stay connected & up to date with A Homeschool Mom? Don’t forget to follow on FacebookInstagram, & Pinterest!

7 thoughts on “Am I Really THAT Important?

  1. God new me before I was formed in my Mothers womb. He knit me together. He is the potter and I am the clay. He died and rose again so that I can have eternal life. Thanks for a great post that is filled with truth and reason to give life our fullest attention.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for visiting my Passions of Patriots blog, and Liking my Lusitania post. I hope you’ll explore my Irish Firebrands blog, too. I put a lot of research into writing my novels, and I’m building library and bibliography pages at both sites. Perhaps you’ll find a resource there that will be helpful in your teaching.

    It’s been ten years since my last homeschooler graduated. My children have gone on to earn multiple honors university degrees, establish rewarding careers, and start families, and when I became disabled, one returned to take care of me. But the learning still continues: a few years ago, I finished a Master’s degree; sometimes my caregiver child asks for my help with university homework; and while I’m blogging, I like to look in on other parents who have put their hands to the homeschool plough that I first used twenty years ago.

    May your work be blessed with effectiveness, and your children’s work be blessed with success.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

