I Allowed Myself to Be Robbed

I_Allowed_Myself_to_Be_RobbedIt had been a long day. The kids were in a particularly cranky mood, which put mom in a particularly fussy mood. The house needed a little cleaning, dinner still needed to get on the table, Pop wasn’t finished with work, and, to top it all off, we needed to leave for church in one short hour. Had I been in a better mood, had I been praying as I should have been, I might have chosen differently. Instead, I chose poorly, and allowed myself to be robbed.

Making the time to read, pray, and go to church doesn’t always come easily. In fact, it can be downright hard. There are many temptations to find more ‘useful’ purposes for our time. We could be cleaning, cooking, gardening, sleeping, or running errands. But, when we choose to put other things before Christ, we are allowing ourselves to be robbed.

True, there are times when the best thing is to rest and remain at home. Going to ‘church’ is not always the answer. The Lord understands when being home is the better thing or when sleep is much-needed. But, how often is my reason for not reading or being in fellowship simply a choice made out of laziness?

Unfortunately, I allow myself to be robbed far too often. I wake up late and set aside my Bible time in order to get the day rolling. The day starts late, so we skim through Bible time in our homeschooling lessons, not digging as deeply as we should have. I’m tired at the end of the day and decide to stay home from church. I’m being robbed, I know it, and yet how often am I doing nothing about it?

I need to choose to put all these things aside and hear what my Lord has to say. I should long for His words, anxiously awaiting the wisdom He has to impart. As a parent, I ought to be setting an example for my children; modeling habits I wish to see in them. As their teacher, I need to be making Bible our first subject and the center of all we do.

Make no mistake, our enemy, the devil, wants to find ways to distract us. He will use whatever is in his power to prevent us from making time with God. He will provide obstacles, temptations, and frustrations. We will find ourselves swamped with responsibilities, surrounded by needs. Our time will appear limited and our resources few.

Spending time with our Lord might not always come easily, but it is so necessary. We need to make the time to set aside the world around us and take in His Word; rest assured the time will not come to you. We need to choose the better thing; refusing to be robbed.

“But he answered, “It is written, “‘Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that comes from the mouth of God.’” Matthew 4:4

🔔Time to Chime In: Do you prefer doing devotions at the start of your day or the finish?

Want to stay connected & up to date with A Homeschool Mom? Don’t forget to follow on FacebookInstagram, & Pinterest!

13 thoughts on “I Allowed Myself to Be Robbed

  1. I do my Bible reading at the beginning of the day, simply because at the end of the day I am more likely to forget it, and because my mind is fresher. I also love the early morning quiet of just me and the Lord.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I have always preferred the morning, however we are working on a concept called TAG, Time Alone with God. This is actually my time alone with God, but modeled in front of our children to encourage them to want to do what we do and build their Time Alone with God. Also, we love reading the Bible together at breakfast. It just starts the day off “right”.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Our first ‘subject’ of the day is always Bible, but, unfortunately, there are times I rush through the lesson. I want to get back on ‘track’ with our routine, sacrificing much needed study in God’s Word.

      I need to be careful I am making the better choice, and not be a slave to my routine.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Thank you for this reminder of what our priorities should be. I started homeschooling my daughter when she was in 6th grade and quickly learned to schedule bible time first thing in the morning, or it would not get the time and attention needed.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Bonhoeffer once said, ‘morning prayer determines the day.’ So, in an attempt to practice that, devotions kick-starts the homeschool day for us. (Although, we call devotions, ‘God, life and the world around us,’ in order to justify it’s relevance to State curriculum).

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Priorities: Choosing to Be Robbed | saltinmysundae

Leave a Reply

