Give God Your Story

Give_God_Your_StoryIf anyone had asked me to share my testimony, the story of how I came to have a relationship with Christ, I would have told you it wasn’t a big deal. It wasn’t until recently, I fully understood just how important my story really is.

I was actually what most people would call a “good kid”. I never did drugs, never drank, didn’t smoke, didn’t ditch school on a regular basis (hey, I wasn’t perfect!), and I did what I knew would please my single mom, knowing she worked doubly hard to be our everything.

See what I mean? It doesn’t sound like much of a testimony does it? What could this ‘good’ little girl have to say that could be so important?

But, here’s the thing… The problem with being a ‘good’ girl is that it’s all too easy to think you actually are good. You tend to rely on your efforts, on your ability to perform, and on your good deeds. It leaves no room for the grace of God. While I would have denied I was trying to earn my way into heaven, I was certainly living as such. As someone once said, “I was missing heaven by 18 inches; the distance from my head to my heart.”

It wasn’t until I was encouraged to attend an apologetics class at our church, that I truly began to appreciate what God had done for me. My faith became real. I don’t know if that makes sense to you, but it certainly resonated with me. God is alive and active; and He requires something of me, my obedience.

Now, I have never given my testimony before large crowds. I probably never will. I don’t know how many people would even find my testimony to be worth listening to. But I do know one audience to whom my testimony is vital – my children.

My children share my experienceThey are being raised in a Christian home. My children go to church. My children are being given Biblical teaching day in and day out. If they are not careful, they will quickly become what I was; someone relying on their own goodness to get into heaven.

Maybe your testimony isn’t as simple as mine. Maybe the Lord has done amazing things in your life; the person you are now is far different from the person you were before you came to know Christ. Has anyone heard your story? Do your children know all that God has done in you and for you?

“But I can’t share that with my kids! There is too much; it’s too horrible; it’s too harsh.” I don’t know what your testimony is, but God does. Pray about what God has done in you. Pray about how God would have you share what He has done. Maybe He will have you share some of your story; maybe He will have you share all. Maybe He will only have you share with your family. I am not here to force you into telling your story, only asking you to consider how God could use your story to bless others and help them come to a greater understanding of His goodness.

Think of it this way. This isn’t YOUR story at all, it’s God’s. This is less about us than what God is doing in us. This is about His goodness, His grace, His mercy, and His love. It’s about taking something less than perfect and making it truly good; not good in and of itself, but positionally good in Him, because of His goodness imputed to us.

When the time comes, don’t be afraid to share your story. Whether it be to the entire world, the world around you, or the little world which resides in your home; may the Lord be glorified and honored for all He has done.

“…’Go home to your friends and tell them how much the Lord has done for you, and how he has had mercy on you.'” Mark 5:19

🔔Time to Chime In: If the Lord leads, take a few moments and share your testimony with us. We’d love to hear how He has done a work in your life.

Want to stay connected & up to date with A Homeschool Mom? Don’t forget to follow on FacebookInstagram, & Pinterest!

12 thoughts on “Give God Your Story

  1. I love this. I’ve always been a little nervous to share my testimony with others. I save it for those I’m truly close to and trust with my heart and who know that even after hearing my story that I am truly changed by the love and grace of God.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Unlike me, my wife was raised in a Christian home, with loving parents. Mine was fiercely agnostic. It was mostly made up of abuse, superstition and fear. The struggle and tragedy I had to endure though, doesn’t make my wife’s story about faith and God’s work in her life less important than my own. We all have a unique voice.

    I think it’s easy for us all to be tempted to undervalue our testimony, or how God can use it. It’s been hard for me to put my own into words, and it’s still a work in progress.

    People with serious abuse in their backgrounds, however, need to hear that there is goodness out there; that God’s victory can be seen and that what they went through wasn’t close to being any semblance of normal; e.g.: it wasn’t what a loving parent, friend or loving family does.

    Hearing or seeing the kind of story which counters our own “broken” story can be hard to understand and appreciate, but is liberating if communicated responsibly.

    It’s a door that allows God’s light to enter into the cracks of our own darkened places, allowing the Lordship of Christ to emancipate places where only despair reigns.

    Which kinda emphasises what you wrote here:

    “Think of it this way. This isn’t YOUR story at all, it’s God’s. This is less about us than what God is doing in us. This is about His goodness, His grace, His mercy, and His love. It’s about taking something less than perfect and making it truly good; not good in and of itself, but positionally good in Him, because of His goodness imputed to us.”

    … Preach. It. Sista! 🙂

    Amen!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Like Ron above, neither my husband or I were raised in a Christian home. Yet, the Lord found us. My sister’s father-in-law got saved in Dec 1959 and started witnessing to my sister and her husband. They accepted the Lord in Feb 1960 and then they started witnessing to me. In March of 1960 I accepted their offer to attend their church. That day, I accepted the Lord and my life has been forever changed. Slowly, with bumps in the road, but steadily improving spiritually. Dan was already saved by the time we married. (almost 52 years ago) What a great God we serve!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Neat, I just typed up mine for a volunteer application, so I will share with you all as well. I pray it glorifies God and encourages you. It’s kind of long, but I hope that if you take the time to read it, you’ll be reminded to rely on the Lord for your entire journey here on earth:

    I came to know the Lord at a very young age – 4 years, actually. I even don’t remember personally praying the prayer, but my parents do, and I have a faint memory of it. But more importantly, I remember how I have always felt free to talk to my Lord and Father in Heaven. Early on in my life, He answered my prayers, gave me a desire to tell others about Jesus, and gave me a hunger to read the Bible.
    All that was put to the test when my parents decided to move from New York to California – my dad chose to give up his business and go to Bible college. God chose for us to go through a different college – struggles, being poor, moving a lot, my mom’s health, and my dad’s schooling not completed. And even from the very beginning of this new adventure, I entered into it mad at God for taking us away from my grandparents and cousins.
    For about 6 months or so I looked like a good Christian girl on the outside to the adults that I wanted their good opinion, but on the inside I was angry, not praying, looking to be part of my peers that were not doing good things, and rebelling completely against what I knew was right. But the Holy Spirit never stopped convicting me and calling me back. Until one day in our little 2 bedroom apartment in Golden Springs, California, I prayed with my mom to rededicate my life to Jesus and set things straight in my heart.
    The following years in California were especially important for me as I became friends with an elderly missionary couple from church who had spent much of their lives in Columbia. I loved to listen to their stories, sing old hymns with Naomi Farrel, and begin to get a love for missions.
    Even through my teen years, I still struggled though with staying close to God – the pull between my peers and my relationship with my heavenly Father continued. I wanted to serve Him and be obedient, but I wanted to be with the ‘in’ crowd of teenagers at church too. Finally, after my heart was broken by who I thought would be my sweetheart and possibly fellow husband, I decided I needed redirection and commitment: I joined a year-long internship with a group that used to take young people all over the world for a short term mission in the summer.
    During my time with LifeLine missions at a young age of 16, God really taught me how to live with my fellow Christian brothers and sisters the right way: how to have fellowship, but not be brought down; how to have fun, but be godly while doing so; and how to see the things in my heart that still kept Him at a distance (amazing how the child-like faith can be varnished over with age.) But there was still a lot of learning for me to do concerning what role the Lord wants in my life (ie – total dependency) and what His calling means (ie – no matter what you do or where you work, our job is the same: preach the gospel.)
    Fifteen years later, I seem to still be learning more about these two lessons. And I’ve grown in my understanding of what God’s gracious work in our lives can look like throughout the events He’s brought about and the decisions I’ve made: marrying a man in the military, living in Italy, having one daughter overseas, having a son who is fighting Autism, ups and downs with our marriage – yet always relying on God together! – and now living in Europe a second time.
    My walk with the Lord now is very much about “Lord, what can I do with the time You’ve given me here? How can I best be a godly wife and mother, and also show the people around me who You are? How do I redeem the time?” And as I ask these questions, God continues to show me areas that I need His work done (like Philippians says, He who began a good work in you will complete it until the day of Jesus Christ). I pray that no matter what mistakes I make, that I will constantly return to my Lord and Savior, and that I can finish well and honor Him when all is said and done.

    Melissa Roland

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

