The Promised Land

The_Promised_LandOur family is reading through the book of Genesis during Bible time. We’ve just started reading about God’s promises to Abram. The kids know what’s coming down the road. Every time we read about the Israelites and their journey to the promised land, the fulfillment of God’s promise, the kids get frustrated. We laugh about how silly the Israelites were, constantly complaining about the journey and fearing to go into the land so longed for. And yet, if we give it a little thought, aren’t we the same way?

For as long as I can remember, I’ve always wanted to be a parent. I have also been determined to homeschool my children and be with them as often as possible. However, the journey of parenting hasn’t always been what I expected. I had grand visions of the parent I would be, how my children would behave, and what their education would look like. I’d like to tell you I’ve taken each twist and turn in stride, always remaining calm and patient. I would even settle for telling you I’ve trusted God through it all. That would be a lie.

How often am I acting just like the Israelites? How often am I complaining about this journey called parenting, instead of trusting in God’s Word? How often am I complaining about His provisions; instead of being grateful for His blessings being rained down each day? How often am I fearful to enter into the promises He has set before me, afraid of what might be lurking in my way?

The Israelites’ journey to the promised land continues through the book of Numbers. We read about Moses and his leadership of God’s people. While Moses tried to lead as God intended, he was not without fault. God’s people needed water. After asking God for help, Moses is told to speak to a rock and water would be given. Instead, out of frustration, Moses hits the rock, and serious consequences follow.

Once again, our natural instinct might be to shake our heads and wonder what in the world Moses was thinking. Why couldn’t he just do what God asked him to? But…

When God asks me to be gentle with my children, do I always listen? How often am I being more harsh than necessary, frustrated my children didn’t listen the first time or angry they are rebelling against our authority. Am I always doing what God asks of me, in the way He intended? Unfortunately not.

Parenting is a journey, sometimes filled with struggles and frustrations. Patience is tested, and we’re often asked to step outside the norm to follow God’s leading. Homeschooling may be a trying, finding our place and facing the ‘giants’ which stand before us. May we never forget He is faithful in fulfilling His promises to His people. May the journey not cause us to lose hope, nor doubt the Word of God. Let us enter in, giving Him glory as we go, knowing He is with us through it all.

I am blessed in being able to say God has answered my prayers. I have four, beautiful, healthy, loving children. They, generally speaking, get along, and they love the Lord. I have the privilege of homeschooling all four, teaching them God’s Word and discipling them. I am partaking of His blessings, humbled at God’s gifts: His protection and His constant provision. Despite my failures and weaknesses, may the Lord be glorified through it all.

“The LORD appeared to him and said, “Do not go down to Egypt; stay in the land of which I shall tell you. “Sojourn in this land and I will be with you and bless you, for to you and to your descendants I will give all these lands, and I will establish the oath which I swore to your father Abraham. “I will multiply your descendants as the stars of heaven, and will give your descendants all these lands; and by your descendants all the nations of the earth shall be blessed;” Genesis 26:2-5

🔔Time to Chime In: How is the Lord working in your life? We’d love to hear how God is fulfilling His promises for your family.

Want to stay connected & up to date with A Homeschool Mom? Don’t forget to follow on FacebookInstagram, & Pinterest!

One thought on “The Promised Land

Leave a Reply

