A Simplified Life: Menu Planning

Simplified_LifeOut of all the chores I have, creating a grocery list and figuring out what to put on next week’s menu, is the hardest. For whatever reason, food just isn’t a priority for me. That doesn’t mean, however, that my family doesn’t need to be fed and taken care of. In order to make this job more pleasant, I have implemented a couple of steps to make things easier for myself.

The first thing that I have done is post an ongoing grocery list to the inside of one kitchen cupboard (conveniently placed above the pencil drawer).This allows me to place things on the list immediately instead of having to remember everything I need on grocery day. The morning I go shopping, I take the list out of the cupboard and do a quick house check to make sure nothing has been forgotten.

The second thing I have done is to create a list of meals my family enjoys seeing on the menu. I then sit down with THIS weekly menu, which my husband created, and start adding in meals for the following week.  As I go along I continue to add items to my grocery list, as needed. The finished menu is then posted in the kitchen, and I finalize my grocery list.

With my list and calculator in hand, I want to do a quick “budget check” to make sure that I am on track with my spending. Our family has a monthly budget for groceries and I need to make sure that I stick to the allotted amount for the week. If I am well in the black, then I feel free to add a couple of extras like cookies and chips. I will also make sure to check my coupon folder and grab any that pertain to my list. Now that my list is complete and checks out with my budget, I am ready to go

The third thing I have done is organize my grocery list to make my shopping faster and easier. When shopping, especially if the kids are tagging along, I prefer to get in and out of the store as quickly as possible. To accomplish this, my grocery list is organized according to the aisles at my grocery store. As I am shopping, I simply walk aisle by aisle grabbing the items listed for each. No need to go back to an aisle for something forgotten, or hidden further down the list; everything is organized and simplified.

With these the help of a few printable lists we’ve made one area of our lives a little simpler, leaving time for more important activities like spending quality time with our kids.

“For he satisfies the thirsty and fills the hungry with good things.”
Psalm 107:9

🔔Time To Chime In: Share your tips for simplifying menu planning and grocery shopping! We’d love to hear your thoughts.

Want to stay connected & up to date with A Homeschool Mom? Don’t forget to follow on FacebookInstagram, & Pinterest!

6 thoughts on “A Simplified Life: Menu Planning

  1. Our menu plan consists of simple yellow square boxes printed on a word document. It’s designed to look like post-it notes when pinned to the fridge. I like the layout of your menu plan, though. {Nice work, Mr. Grau! 🙂 }

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: 3 Square Meals | A Homeschool Mom

  3. Pingback: Building a Family Plan | A Homeschool Mom

Leave a Reply

