3 Square Meals

In the KitchenIn conjunction with our “I Can’t Homeschool” series, let’s take a look at the fine art of cooking. Not every parent likes to cook and not everyone is ready to make three square meals a day. But, when you homeschool, food seems to be at the center of every learning table.

I don’t know about anyone else’s kids, but mine eat all day long! No sooner do they eat breakfast, but they are looking for a snack. They are ‘starving’ when lunch time comes around, always willing to indulge in an afternoon snack (if not two), and begging me to make dinner long before I’m usually ready to make it. Kids eat a lot.

I’m better at cooking now that I used to be. (My poor husband had to show me how to boil water when we first got married.) However, it took me quite a while to finally learn the art of cooking.

i_cant_homeschool

I imagine I’m not the only parent who is learning ‘on the job’. Not all of us came into marriage and parenting knowing how to cook a great dinner, much less breakfast or lunch. The thought of having to cook three square meals, and handle constant snacking can be a bit unnerving for some parents, especially if they’ve gotten used to someone else (their child’s school) doing some of the thinking for them.

If you’re new to the adventure of homeschooling and unsure of meal planning, or just looking for a few new ideas on how to make three square meals a day, here are few helps to get you started:

Pinterest
Food Network
Eating Well
TasteSpotting

When it comes to meal planning, I find it helpful to just talk to the kids. They usually know what they want and are even willing to help me in the kitchen. We’ve created a collection of recipe ideas they like to see on a regular basis, making meal planning even more easy. And, in a pinch, pb&j is a classic for a reason!

Meal planning doesn’t have to be a burdensome chore. With the kids help, and few colorful pictures to inspire, cooking can be a joy. Embrace this fun activity and make it part of your learning adventure!

“Give us this day our daily bread.”
Matthew 6:11

🔔Time to Chime In: For those who like to cook, where do you find new recipe ideas?

Want to stay connected & up to date with A Homeschool Mom? Don’t forget to follow on FacebookInstagram, & Pinterest!

6 thoughts on “3 Square Meals

  1. I absolutely love to cook. I’m always hunting yard sales for new cookbooks. Often, though, I’ll look at what’s in my fridge and (if I can’t come up with something on my own), I’ll google a few ingredients + recipe. Something usually turns up. 🙂 I agree completely that making your littles part of the meal-planning conversation is a huge help. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It always helped to assume they are hungry and plan snacks as a regular part of the school day. This always worked for us – and the only change was in the VOLUME required as they got older.

    That’s how Saturday baking became such a routine for me. I still do it now, even though my kids are all moved away and grown up. They sometimes drop in on Saturday – because they know there will be something coming out of the oven. It’s hard in hot weather though. Hot oven, and the stuff gets stale or spoiled much faster than in the frozen months.

    Volume cooking and freezing is a life safer for every home school family. There are just times when you don’t feel like, or are unable to cook. It is wonderful to be able to pull a pan of lasagna or whatever out of the freezer.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. “Meal planning doesn’t have to be a burdensome chore. With the kids help, and few colorful pictures to inspire, cooking can be a joy.” – Agreed! 🙂 I don’t enjoy cooking all that much. I’m more of a creative director in our house. I do it when I need to, though. Usually I’m recruiting the kids to help when I do. Great opportunities for lessons in teamwork, health, food preparation hygiene, and creative cooking.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

