How To Make a Greater Impact NOW!

In every day, there are 1,440 minutes. That means we have 1,440 daily opportunities to make a positive impact.
~ Les Brown

Greater_ImpactAt a recent event, a homeschooling mom encouraged us with this thought: We aren’t to be waiting for that moment when our time of ministry is finally here. Rather, we are to be living each moment with the knowledge that this is our ministry. Where ever we are, whatever we are doing, that is our current ministry and we need to be making the most of it! You want to make an impact on the world? Start right where you are!

Let’s face it, we all want to know we’re making a difference in the world around us. As a Christian, and a blogger, I want this impact not to come from myself but from a deep love of Christ. I want people to be influenced not by me, but by Christ living in me.

There are several keys to making a greater impact right where we are, right now:

Stop Worrying About What People Want to Hear – We are not called to be people pleasers, but ambassadors for Christ. As much as I like being liked – and I do, believe me – I need to start worrying less about how people will like what I have to say and more on what God wants me to say. If I care more about how I will be perceived than people hearing the truth, I need to rethink my thinking.

Focus Less on How Many Listen and Make Sure God is Speaking – It can be all too easy to equate large audiences with great impact. Is God not capable of using small venues to meet a need and bring about great influence? I need to worry less about how many people are listening or ‘liking’ my posts and make sure God’s message is getting across. This isn’t about me at all or how well I am liked – here we go again – it’s about God using me to bring about His greater good.

Forget the Numbers and Focus on People – As mentioned above, numbers seem to drive us. We check the numbers on our Twitter feeds, our Facebook status updates, and our pictures on Instagram. We want people to see us, like us, and share us. When I start centering my life around those numbers and not on the people the Lord is trying to impact, it’s time for me to be removed from the picture. This is ministry – at least from my standpoint – and I don’t want that to change. I shouldn’t care if you ‘like’ the post or not. If God used my words to minister to you, that is enough.

Have a Heart – Remember the saying, “No one will care what you know, until they know you care.” It serves no purpose for me to sit here writing, posting, or commenting on other people’s lovely posts if my words are harsh and uncaring. I want people to hear the love of Christ in my words, thoughts, and actions. I need to have a heart for His people. I want Christ to fill me with love, grace, and compassion that I may pour that into others, making an impact for His kingdom.

I never know how many people will ‘like’ my posts, truthfully. I don’t even know how many people will even read the posts, much less ‘like’ them. In fact, God may choose to remove me from this venue, and I may never write another post again. What I do know, is that to make a great impact on the world around me is for me to be completely removed from the picture and for Christ to be what is reflected to the world around me. It doesn’t matter my sphere of influence, I need to decrease so Christ may increase.

Then, will I truly have made an impact on the world around me.

He must increase, but I must decrease.

~ John 3:30

🔔Time to Chime In: Share with us some of your favorite blogs, podcasts, books, and speakers which God is using to make a positive impact on your life right now! We’d love to share in the blessing of God’s teaching.

Want to stay connected & up to date with A Homeschool Mom? Don’t forget to follow on FacebookInstagramTwitterPinterest & Periscope!

11 thoughts on “How To Make a Greater Impact NOW!

  1. Personally, I believe that Satan works to keep us from seeing the fruits of our labor for God, to try to dishearten us.  Your light is shining, and you are making an impact.  Keep up the good work!

    I’ve tried over this past year of blogging to focus on the enjoyment, rather than the response.  Hardly anyone reads my blog; and if I focused on popularity as my goal, I think I would be very discouraged and not enjoy the process of blogging.  I pray that someday one person will be blessed by my blog, and that would make it worthwhile.  Then I just have fun being creative with words and photography.  🙂

    I worked on a project recently illustrating a video on basic topics that I think would be helpful for anyone.  Here’s a link to it: “Looking for Happiness in All the Wrong Places.”  Thanks for allowing me to share!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. While as bloggers we might make an impact through this medium, may I stress that you do NOT have to be a blogger in order to make an impact. The Lord can use each of us in completely different ways, none of which necessarily relate to social media.

    Whether we speak via writing, video, or face-to-face we need to be applying these basic principles to our lives. We ought never to be worried about how ‘small’ our ministry is, whether the persons being spoken to will ‘like’ the message, or how popular the message might be. And we are always commanded to speak with love.

    May the Lord encourage each of us to speak boldly for His Name, no matter where we are called.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. For me, the key to this is simply being creative, responsibly vulnerable and relational. The hard thing is maintaining that focus when you’re ministering in a realm where the people who over-capitalise on appearances, post for applause and comment for approval, get the most attention. Everyone else tends to get lost in the mechanics of “trending,” “top posts” etc. Best to just to do what we’re called to do and keep walking, even when or if someone notices. Eg.: I’d much rather Pastor a church of 20 Jesus Freaks who work with me, than be the executive in a church of 200 Sunday Christians who follow me.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Some of my favorite blog and books are Sally Clarkson’s, Simple Homeschool, Aha parenting, Better Mom, and Raising Godly Children, and yours 🙂 I LIKE your posts, they’re encouraging. Keep posting!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

