Aromatherapy Sewing Fun!

Lavender-Aromatherapy_pillowI would really enjoy an electric blanket. Truly. However, we don’t own them. The idea of sleeping next to an electrical current doesn’t sit well with us. Instead, we use aromatherapy pillows!

In the past, I’ve purchased my pillows, paying quite a tidy little sum for these bundles of sweet-smelling warmth. When my children decided they wanted them too, we figured it was high time we learned to make our own.

Flaxseed and Lavender Neck Pillows

Directions – 

  • Choose your fabric. Something heavy but not too stiff, like brushed canvas or cotton ticking, works well.
  • Decide what size you’d like your finished pillow to be. Customize it to suit your needs, but a rectangle about 6 inches by 18 inches is a good place to start. (This is long enough to drape around your neck.)
  • Cut your fabric. You can cut two pieces of cloth, adding about half an inch for a seam allowance all around. Or you can cut one piece of cloth that’s twice the width you want the finished pillow to be plus half an inch seam allowance on each side. (In this case you’ll fold the fabric in half lengthwise and sew three rather than four ends closed.)
  • Place right sides of the fabric together and sew, using a half-inch seam allowance on each side. Leave one short side open for filling.
  • Turn your pillow right side out.
  • Fill your pillow about two-thirds to three-fourths full of flax-seed. Add about 1/4 cup of dried lavender flowers. Don’t overdo the flowers, because the scent will become stronger when heated. And don’t overfill the pillow or the seeds won’t be able to move around and the pillow won’t drape comfortably.
  • Sew the last end closed. (You can fold the ends in and sew by hand or by machine.)

Use – 

To use your pillow, warm it in the microwave for about 30 seconds. Shake and warm for another 30 to 60 seconds, until the desired warmth. Note: Be careful not to overheat the pillow! It can get hot enough to burn you or even start a fire! For further options, take a look at THIS website. In addition to the instructions found above, you’ll find helpful ideas on how to customize your pillows.

Screen Shot 2016-01-26 at 5.38.35 PM

In our home, we use these pillows as bed warmers. Even in California the nights can get pretty cold. A heavenly smelling, warm pillow is just the thing to help the kids fall asleep. And when mommy feels a little sore at the end of a hard day of yard work, these little pillows are wonderful on aching muscles.

Sewing is fun. Sewing with my kids is even better. Know what’s best? Finding projects which not only save us money, but serve an everyday purpose. This project was an answer to all three!

“Mint and lavender, and all herbs aromatic;”
Song of Solomon 4:14

🔔Time to Chime In: Which herb would you include in your aromatherapy bag and why?

Want to stay connected & up to date with A Homeschool Mom? Don’t forget to follow on FacebookInstagramTwitter& Pinterest!

13 thoughts on “Aromatherapy Sewing Fun!

      • She’ll be in my prayers. I have the same issues.

        Please advise her to be careful. If her levels get too low it can lead to other issues. My deficiency led to a doctor visit and finding out my red blood cell count was well below a healthy range. Unchecked, this could lead to bone loss and other future issues. Thankfully, we caught it in time, but I have to be especially careful about what I eat and make sure to get enough time out of doors in the sun (which I also wasn’t doing).

        She’ll be in my thoughts!

        Like

  1. We’ve been doing a lot with aromatherapy also! I was going to post ours soon ♡ But I love the idea of these little neck bags. I have a lavender linen spray made at a local vineyard that also has beautiful lavender fields. Other smells I love are eucalyptus. Or jasmine!

    Liked by 1 person

      • 🙂 I tend to not be crafty either. Things never turn out as perfect as I envisioned them. (sigh) However, I’ve come to a point where I realize I need to move past my perfectionism and just learn for the fun of learning.

        I’m better about crafting when our crafts have a purpose, however. (I can’t see making things we’re just going to toss out five minutes later. – Bad mom!) But, when I find crafts that serve our home or teach my children important life skills, I’m willing to give it a go.

        We’re starting a new endeavor right now which I can’t wait to share with all of you next month! Hopefully it will go well. Pray for me! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

    • I like using rice, too! When we were younger, my mom used bags filled with corn meal. (Except those always smelled like popcorn after a while. 🙂 )

      The flax seed is lighter than rice, and holds more moisture. I like this because with warming them so often, the additional moisture prevents them from getting a burned smell.

      Like

Leave a Reply

