The Lord Giveth, And The Lord Taketh Away

The_Lord_GivethI love when God blesses our families. Don’t you? During those seasons of giving, it’s easy to bless the name of the Lord. But, when the going gets tough, do we still bless His name? Through our struggles, we have the opportunity to teach our children a new lesson: The Lord giveth and the Lord taketh away; blessed be the name of the Lord!

Life is never perfect, but it’s lovely when we are able to go through seasons of refreshment. Times of ease and smooth sailing. We have daily mishaps, but overall life is going pretty good. Then, comes those seasons when nothing seems to be going our way. We lose jobs, our cars break down, the house payment is going to be a stretch, our kids are in full rebellion, and more. We recognize God in the giving, but it can be hard to hear His voice amidst the taking.

If I stop and listen, He will speak. What is He trying to tell me? He loves me; knows me better than I know myself; has experienced every feeling I have; He will always be there for me; He will always come to my aid; and He is not done with me yet. God never fails. The truth is, I am still being blessed. Even in the midst of the taking away.

As parents, we have the wonderful opportunity of teaching this to our children. God will neither fail us nor our children.  By our example, our children will learn to bless the name of the Lord no matter their circumstances.

Is this a time of giving? We praise the Lord for His gifts, thanking Him for blessings we don’t deserve. We use the gifts He has given to bless others. We ask the Lord to give us wisdom in how to best use our gifts and be good stewards.

Is this a time of taking? We continue to openly praise the Lord for His gifts, thanking Him for blessings we don’t deserve. (Our children need to see that our circumstances do not dictate our praise of God.) We ask the Lord to use this time of taking to grow us and show us truths in His Word. We teach our children to pray specifically over needs to be met, encouraging them to keep a journal as God answers.

The question isn’t whether or not God is blessing us; His love never ends. It’s whether or not I will trust Him through the struggle. The question is, will I still bless the name of the Lord even when surrounded by overwhelming obstacles and a way is not seen. Will I bless His name, when to all the world, there is no blessing evident in my life?

As the verse says, “To everything there is a season….” There will be seasons of giving and seasons when the Lord takes. May we be faithful to trust Him no matter the season we find ourselves in. And, may we praise His name always.

“and he said, Naked came I out of my mother’s womb, and naked shall I return thither: Jehovah gave, and Jehovah hath taken away; blessed be the name of Jehovah.”
Job 1:21

🔔Time to Chime In: Is your family going through a season of ‘taking’, how can we pray for you?

Want to stay connected & up to date with A Homeschool Mom? Don’t forget to follow on FacebookInstagramTwitter& Pinterest!

10 thoughts on “The Lord Giveth, And The Lord Taketh Away

  1. Your post strikes a pleasant chord with me. I look at the phrase, “The Lord taketh away,” and do not see this. My wife and I have often thought certain decisions or directions we take were the right choice for we prospered in some way, though many times it quickly became closed to us. If any of these actions are turned away, we can interpret this as God taking it away. What appears as God taking what I desire away is God redirecting me to a more fruitful path, though I initially do not see it. As you say, trust in God. We appeared to be a negative in our life has turned out to be a beautiful event for us.

    This post is a lovely reminder for me. Thank you.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Beautiful and very important to remember. After our morning Prayers we always say “This is the say the Lord has made. Let us rejoice and be glad in it.” Because if nothing else, we have the day. It feels like we have very serious ups and downs, and in a family with seven children, this can be greatly amplifIed.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for sharing! I am truly blessed by your insight. I am encouraged when discover a site that reaches into the depths of our hearts with the Word of God! What a blessing! May God continue to use you for His Glory!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Pingback: Ash Wednesday | homewiththethreebears

Leave a Reply

